A Number One Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
This was easy and delicious! The bread was great on its own, and even better as French toast the next morning. I doubled the sugar because I like my egg bread sweet, and it was just right. I halved the recipe and made one loaf. A word of caution when making one loaf, I only cooked it for 30 minutes and I think it would have been better after 20-25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
This bread is delicious, bar none. It made two HUGE 9x5s
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HELLODJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
I made this for a scrapbooking party and just made 2 round loaves. After they were finished baking & cooled, I sliced 1/4 of the tops off and hollowed them out. Then I cut the insides into chuncks, filled the "bowl" with spinach dip, arranged bread chunks around the bowl and, "Viola!" It was a fantastic treat! I also used this recipe to make "soup bowls" with cream of broccoli & cheese soup and everyone's plate was empty and I swear licked clean! (children too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWifey/Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
This was a great egg bread dough. I wrapped it around some smoked sausages (like pigs in a blanket) we've eaten them for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
Oh my gosh! When I opened the oven it was a Lucy moment! This bread rises so high. It is wonderful, light, I was afraid it would fill the entire oven. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynCocks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
This has become a family favorite. I make the dough in my bread machine under the dough cycle and the bread is always excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
This bread takes a while to make but it is SOOOOO worth the effort. It's relatively easy and very impressive looking. Fantastic with fondue...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
This recipe is outstanding. The loaf came out very, very light (very close to king's Hawiian bread) and huge. If you are experimenting with this recipe, I suggest you half it. My loaf, using the complete recipe, came out to be 5" high, 7" wide and the length of the cookie sheet. Mind you, it is so light I didn't mind at all. I did double the sugar to 1/2 cup. I think I could have used even more. I've searched and tried many challah recipes. This is by far the best. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
This bread is totally unediable on it's own, I was so disappointed when I tried it fresh out of the oven that I did not even serve it. Since I hated to see so many ingredients go to waste I decided to make bread pudding and it was delicious, so I'd recommend you use it to bake with but not to eat plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELLYGIRL23
Home Town: Sultan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
This was my first attempt at making bread, so it's possible this was my fault. However, it seemed to come out okay, but I didn't like the flavor and it was annoying using so many eggs for one recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States