A Number One Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
We used 8 duck eggs and one used for the egg wash. 2 tablespoons of yeast and 1 1/2 teaspoons baking power. Used a 1/2 teaspoon salt. Takes 5 1/2 cups of flour in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I LOVE THIS RECIPE. I ADDED WHITE RAISINS, BLACK RAISINS AND DRIED CRANBERRIES---DELICIOUS. ATER PUTTING ON THE EGG WASH, I SPRINKLED ON POPPY SEEDS---A GREAT EASTER BREAD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by majroot
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
The Egg Bread was delish! I cut the recipe in half so it would serve 9 people. It was very light and fuffly. So overall this bread is a little time consuming but it was worth it. If I could fix one thing it would be is that cook it for 20min-35min it was done at 25 for me. I would totally try making this bread if I were you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Unfortunately this bread was lacking in flavor, big time. And the top of it from the egg white wash over browned and almost burned the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by Aaron S. Clair
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
As previously mentioned, the baking time is way off. My oven runs hot so I baked it at 350 and it was well browned at 26 minutes. Splitting the dough into two loaves would also improve the recipe. The taste is unspectacular. I expected something much richer considering the number of eggs involved. I wouldn't have made it if I didn't have a ridiculous number of eggs to use up and I doubt I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aaron S. Clair

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
This recipe is awesome! I have made it quite a few times with perfect results every time. I am always getting requests to make it for friends. I have made it both with 6 yolks and 3 eggs as well as just using 6 whole eggs with pretty much the same results. The dough is very sticky so as some suggested I added additional flour once and the bread turned out too dry. So for me it's best to work with the sticky dough. I also have convection oven. I set to convection bake 280 degrees, cover bread with foil after 8 to 10 minutes and it's done after a total of about 24 minutes. Try this recipe. You'll love it! It makes awesome french toast as well as bread pudding! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This bread is fabulous! Light and airy. I did bake it at 350 degrees. I also put it on two pans, so the bottom would not overbrown. I found that 30 min. was enough. I used a piece of dry spaghetti to test the bread doneness. It comes out looking "gourmet".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Turned out light and fluffy. This will be my new go-to bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I make this a lot, especially at the holidays. I like to throw in cranberries, walnuts and cinnamon. It'll blow your skirt up toasted with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Izzy Shores

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Wonderful, I have not had much success bread making in my life, but this one was easy and came out great. I turned the recipe into dinner rolls and the family just ate them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States