A Number One Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Absolutely deserves 5 stars! I halved the recipe, added 2 Tbsps. honey for kicks, and sprinkled poppy seeds on top of the egg wash. One added note about this bread - unlike almost every other homemade recipe out there, this one remained acceptably fresh and soft for three days in a large ziploc bag - that's very rare and valuable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I halved the recipe and, as other reviewers suggested, just used 3 whole eggs. I also added 1/4 cup of honey. I was not happy with the results--the bread did not rise enough and was crumbly? BUT, since I didn't stick to the original recipe, I didn't think it was fair to ding the rating too much. Just thought I'd warn other cooks to think twice before tweaking the original version too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This is on of the best recipes I have used. It is so easy and make. the whole recipe will make 2 big loaves. So I. make 1/2 the recipe for just the two of us. The amount of flour depends on the size of the eggs. Also, I use 3 whole eggs and forget the egg yolks. I always buy jumbo eggs so in half the recipe I use almost 3 cups of flour, also I use 1/3 cup sugar. So it is an easy recipe to add your own influence too. No matter what you do, it turnes out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Very moist and tender. I used 1/3 cup sugar for a little sweeter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
A fabulous recipe! I added a 1/4 cup honey but otherwise didn't alter the ingredients. I proofed the yeast with the sugar for about 10 min before adding the rest of the ingredients. I made two loaves from the resulting dough rather than one and let them rise a bit longer than called for during the second rise. They made very normal-sized challah loaves. Beautiful and very delicious. They only needed 20- 25 minutes in the oven. I sprinkled them with kosher salt before baking and they looked great. I think they turned out perfect, and I have tried a wide variety of challah (or egg bread) recipes on this site. Thank you, I have a new go-to recipe for my challah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by betabear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Absolutely awesome! Added 1/2 cup honey and made two yummy loaves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This is a great recipe. When I'm short on eggs I substitute 3 eggs in place of the 6 egg yolks. I also use 1 3/4 t of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Very simple and delicious. Makes a LOT of bread. It looks very pretty and professional, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Oh my goodness, Kevin... this is the softest and best braid I have ever made. Thank you for sharing the recipe. I made the dough in my bread machine and also took note of comments made by other reviewers. Firstly, I made 1/2 the quantity and baked only 20min (altho next time, I will make two and give away one since baking time is so short), doubled the quantity of sugar and substituted whole eggs for the egg yolks (ie. 6 egg yolks =3 eggs). Because I used whole eggs, I needed a bit more flour. I just added flour bit-by-bit and watched the dough form until I was satisfied with how it looked and felt. Still thought it could do with either a bit more salt or sugar - can't decide which one. Now this is how I've always wanted my braids to turn out but never succeeded. I can imagine this looking great if baked in a loaf tin too or with the addition of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This is so delicious! I love it! One note I want to make is that if you try to make this into one loaf, it will probably be gi-normous. I have made this twice and have always halved the recipe (the loaf is still huge!), and a half-recipe will only need 20 minutes in the oven. ( One trick I learned from Alton Brown on an episode of "Good Eats!" is to let the dough rise in a (not turned on)oven with a pan of hot water beneath it. Also, if you've ever had trouble getting the yeast to rise - like myself - make sure you stir the yeast in the sugar-water until it completely dissolves, then let it sit for a couple minutes 'til it gets really foamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States