A Number One Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This recipe itself has some issues. First off, there is no way this needs to bake for 40 mins. It probably was done after 20. And it was lacking in the sweetness of Hawaiian bread that I was looking for. Don't know if I would ever try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This is the third time I've made this bread, it always turns out great! I use the full recipe, because I love how big this bread is. It's plain, so it goes well as an an accompaniment with other foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Just a quick point, it could be that people are having different results with this because of altitude. If this recipe came from Hawaii, it's most likely a higher altitude recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This bread turned out ok, I cooked it for 25min per others reviews, but I think that was still a little too long. It came out really light and pretty but I feel like this bread is missing something. Maybe more sugar or some honey like other reviewers suggested, or more salt like another reviewer mentioned. Overall, I would try making this bread again but definetly with some adjustments. We also found that it was very sticky kneading it at the beginning but by 7 minutes of kneading it gets a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This bread turned out exactly as I had hoped. Giant, light, fluffly and golden. I halved the recipe and still ended up with a normal challah sized loaf. To those who say this bread is bland... when was the last time you bought some bread and just ate it plain? very unusual I say. This bread is fantastic with just a little jam or honey, equally good dipped in soup or stew. Doesn't need anything at all. However, I think the addition of lemon zest, poppy seeds and some extra sugar might make it a stand alone bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ASTROPHE
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Not enough sugar... this thing is HUGE. It was as wide as my half sheet pan when made as a braided round wreath... so 13 inches in diameter. Baking time is too hot and too long. I did NOT preheat based on reviews warning about it. I put it in and started at 375 deg and after 20 min I started to worry, so I cranked it to 350 and went another 10 min for a total of 30 min baking. Then I let it cool. It was fine, but a little darker on top than I like. Very good texture and airy though. Also a nice yellow color and easy dough to work with. Next time I am going to try with 1/2 cup sugar, butter instead of oil, and 350 deg for 30 min or 325 for the 40 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTROPHE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Truly a great bread recipe! I started by proofing the yeast. I find that this helps in getting great results with any type of bread. I used a kitchenaid with a dough hook to help with the kneading. It makes a huge loaf, halving the recipe might be better if you don't need such a big bread. Also, I cut the cooking time to 30 minutes. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Commack, New York, USA
Living In: Port Jefferson Station, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by prettycoolme209
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This recipe came out great as you see in my photo I posted, I x the recipe by 4 so I can make bigger rolls and my residents loved them when I brushed them with melted honey butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettycoolme209

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
The bread was okay at best. It was plain tasting. It was also very crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Great tasting bread! I made it exactly as written and turned out two large braided loaves and 4 small buns. A little disappointed in the texture. It was moist but almost crumbly kind of like a sponge cake. I was hoping it would be a bit chewier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies!Cookies!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States