A Number One Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
Great! - played with it a bit - proofed the yeast (fast acting worked better), added 1/4 cup honey, 1tsp salt plus more flour since it was sticky, plus did a second rise after kneading. Topped one with sesame, the other with poppy seed-also 30 minutes at 350 worked better. Irrestible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
This is the best bread I have ever eaten! It is very rich. I made half of the recipe. 1/8 cup of honey made it just a little sweeter. Coating the top with egg as directed gives the bread a beautiful shine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
Abs fab! Light, oh! so light an egg bread! On the advices of several people, I used half the recipe. I also proofed the yeast and let the dough rise one extra time. Delicious! Feathery! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
I have made a lot of bread and many recipes, but this one is the best of all. Thanks for sharing it. One tip...divide the bread into at least 2 loaves. It is very large recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
This bread was delicious. It looked beautiful. The loaves were larges with a crisp crust and wonderful soft, moist insides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
I've used this recipe many, many times for home use and for my small catering business. It always works and it always is HUGE!!! I have to cook it diagonally!! Lay foil over it gently at first so top doesn't brown too fast. Truly a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I had my high school cooking class prepare this bread. We cooked it a muffin tin in cloverleaf bun shapes and there was not a bad batch in 12 kitchen. Great easy and tasty recipe. If a hormonal 15 year old can make it, You know its easy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
This egg bread was very easy to make. I cut the recipe in half because I wasn't sure if the bread was going to taste good or not...but it was good! My mom thought I got it from a bakery! The bread came out very big! It makes me wonder how big the bread actually is, if I had followed the recipe without cutting it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
Yuck! After all the time I spent on this bread I was VERY disappointed on the outcome. I followed the recipe exacally, but it didn't taste at all good. My husband didn't care for it either, but my daughter ate it with LOTS of butter. Definatly watch the cooking time-it does NOT take 40 mins. to bake. Considering all the other reviews I coundn't wait to try this bread, but I will not be making this one again--not worth all that time at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
Delicious recipe. I found it did not take as long to bake as the recipe suggests. Instead of 45 minutes it was done in 35. Also this bread was much larger than expected - It baked to be the width of my oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States