A Number One Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 5, 2005
This has become a family favorite. I make the dough in my bread machine under the dough cycle and the bread is always excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
This bread takes a while to make but it is SOOOOO worth the effort. It's relatively easy and very impressive looking. Fantastic with fondue...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
This recipe is outstanding. The loaf came out very, very light (very close to king's Hawiian bread) and huge. If you are experimenting with this recipe, I suggest you half it. My loaf, using the complete recipe, came out to be 5" high, 7" wide and the length of the cookie sheet. Mind you, it is so light I didn't mind at all. I did double the sugar to 1/2 cup. I think I could have used even more. I've searched and tried many challah recipes. This is by far the best. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
This bread is totally unediable on it's own, I was so disappointed when I tried it fresh out of the oven that I did not even serve it. Since I hated to see so many ingredients go to waste I decided to make bread pudding and it was delicious, so I'd recommend you use it to bake with but not to eat plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELLYGIRL23
Home Town: Sultan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
This was my first attempt at making bread, so it's possible this was my fault. However, it seemed to come out okay, but I didn't like the flavor and it was annoying using so many eggs for one recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
I have to say this is the BIGGEST loaf I've ever baked. I also would make it into 2 smaller loaves next time, unless you're doing it for a party... it certainly looks IMPRESSIVE as one giant loaf. And with the egg wash- it's just so pretty. Be careful with the time in the oven. Mine only took about 30 minutes. Check it with a thermometer. A loaf like this should read between 200-210 degrees when it's done. Don't overcook it. It is very light. The only change I would make to the recipe is adding just a tad more salt and maybe 1/3 cup sugar instead of a 1/4 cup (but I DO like my bread a little sweeter). It is the lightest textured loaf ever, just melts on your tongue. Would definitely make it again. But if you're looking for the rich tasting challah bread that you used to get in the bakery, this isn't it. It is in a class by itself, but not a substitute for traditional challah. Excellent for french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycamper26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
Excellent Challah bread - it even came good when I cut the recipe in half and made a smaller loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
I have to admit, I was a tad disappointed in this. From all the rave reviews, I was expecting this to be spectacular. It wasn't bad, mind you, but it wasn't something I would rave over. While it did come out very light and fluffy, I found it a little on the dry side, and lacking a little flavour. I'm sure it will be great used at french toast or bread pudding (I still have one and half of the loaves left), it's not something I would eat on its own. I baked two loaves rather than one, and they were done in 25 minutes. I think I'll stick to the Challah I recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
Even though I read the other reviews, I forgot to make two loaves. No matter. I made one, gigantic loaf of this bread, and it is delicious! It is light and crusty and wonderful. A person looking to win a ribbon at a county fair could do worse than bake this bread. BTW, I baked mine for 45 minutes, but I covered it with tinfoil for the first 30 minutes. Thanks Kevin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
I made the bread into two regular loaves and baked it. When I put it into the oven, it was the regular sixe of bread, but when I took it out the loaves were HUGE. They looked like a couple of double decker buses. But oh so yummy!!! We did try french toast and it was delicious. Will definently make this again. I don't want to invest enough effort to braid it, but maybe three or four loaves would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States