A Number One Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
This recipe is awesome! I have made it quite a few times with perfect results every time. I am always getting requests to make it for friends. I have made it both with 6 yolks and 3 eggs as well as just using 6 whole eggs with pretty much the same results. The dough is very sticky so as some suggested I added additional flour once and the bread turned out too dry. So for me it's best to work with the sticky dough. I also have convection oven. I set to convection bake 280 degrees, cover bread with foil after 8 to 10 minutes and it's done after a total of about 24 minutes. Try this recipe. You'll love it! It makes awesome french toast as well as bread pudding! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This bread is fabulous! Light and airy. I did bake it at 350 degrees. I also put it on two pans, so the bottom would not overbrown. I found that 30 min. was enough. I used a piece of dry spaghetti to test the bread doneness. It comes out looking "gourmet".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Turned out light and fluffy. This will be my new go-to bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I make this a lot, especially at the holidays. I like to throw in cranberries, walnuts and cinnamon. It'll blow your skirt up toasted with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Wonderful, I have not had much success bread making in my life, but this one was easy and came out great. I turned the recipe into dinner rolls and the family just ate them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I followed the recipe as written but the bread came out very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
The recipe is huge, and cutting it in half would yield a nice sized loaf. The bake time recommended is far too long; I baked mine for about 25 or 30 minutes. The bread is very light, however it is also quite flavorless. I will not be making this bread again, unless the french toast I make with it turns out to be out of this world... Kind of defeats the purpose of making fresh bread at home, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This bread was very light and fluffy, not the richer, denser egg bread I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Overall, the recipe is excellent, and tasting it made me discover that this might very well be how some of my favourite Chinese buns are made. It came out fluffier than anything I've baked yet, and might become one of my favourite methods to use. The only problem that I have with the recipe is that it called for much too little flour, or too much moisture. I accidentally used all 560g of bread flour to begin with, which is (I presume) all 4.5 cups, but the pre-rise mixture was too sticky, and unworkable. Seeing as how the recipe uses AP flour, this should have been more than enough, but I ended up adding...perhaps another 100g of flour to the mixture to get the cohesive unit that I am used to working with. If anyone could post what they used in baker's percentages, that would be fantastic. I would love to make this again, but it would help to have a solid recipe for reproducibility. Thanks everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Pretty good recipe! Used it to make Challah bread this past Thanksgiving and although we are not Jewish it came out excellent. The only thing I would change is cutting the recipe in half unless you are cooking for a large crowd. it is a time consuming process but can't really expect anything else since it is homemade and if done right it is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States