A Marinade To Die For Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
I made this and used on a pork tenderloin. I let it marinade for two days in my Tupperware marinade container, flipping daily. It had a slightly sweet taste that was very nice. This is not overpowering by any means. My son who puts worcestershire sauce on everything actually poured more of the marinade on his plate and didn't use the worc. sauce! The butter hardened so I am not sure if I did something wrong or not? I think the soda may have been too cold when I began. I served this with au gratin potatoes, green beans and crescent rolls for Sunday after church lunch. Not sure I would die for this marinade but perhaps I would incur a small injury ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2003
Too sweet - I marinated steaks in this, they were tender and juicy, but just too sweet. It was like eating sugar on my steaks. I also used oil rather than butter so the marinade did not solidify. One reviewer suggest beer instead of soda, this may work better, but I will not try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
This truly is a great marinade!!! Best with a tri-tip and when allowed to marinate overnight. The butter causes the grill to flare up a bit, but well worth the effort! I have made it several times and everytime I have recived rave reviews from my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
Absolutely delicious. Also, while cooking the meat, put the marinade in a medium sauce pan, bring to a boil, add 1 teaspoon of Arrow Root to the marinade, and let it boil down a bit, and then you can slather it on the meat as it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
This is a wonderful marinade..I have used it on chicken and venison..I think it is better to marinate overnight to enhanse flavor.Thanks for this wonderful recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
I did use bbq sauce as suggested by others and I was dissapointed with the results. The taste was very sweet, the lemon lime soda being very dominate. I think regular cola might be little less sweet tasting and blend in beter with the other ingredients. Will keep looking for the ultimate marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
This is a great recipe! I used pork chops and marinated them for about an hour and basted them with the sauce while grilling them. Also, I used Heinz 57 steak sauce (I was going to use A-1). And I only used 1/2 can of the soda (an off brand of citrus soda). It made enough marinade to marinate enough meat for 2 meals (6 people). We absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
Used this on pork tenderloin and let it marinate overnight. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
very good marinade! I subbed butter buds for the butter to make healthier. Marinaded boneless chicken breasts for for about 5 hrs then grilled. Family all liked this! Thanks Debra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
It wasn't bad, but that might be because it wasn't too flavourful. I used it, as written, for pork kebabs. If I tried it again, I would up the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marinade for Steak I

See how to make a sensational marinade for steak.

All about Quinoa

See all you can do with this centuries-old super grain.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States