A-Maize-ing Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Amazing recipe I only used kernel corn because that was all I had. I also used 2% milk for health reasons. This is a quick, easy, tasty recipe and a real crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alesha1776
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Great recipe, I would recommend putting a pat of butter on top to add to the richness of the soup. Super quick, easy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Coming from New England we love corn chowd-ah almost as much as clam chowder (no TOMATOES please). This version is rich and creamy just how we like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
this was an amazing recipe, very easy and lot's of taste! thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Can't wait to make this for dinner, will follow the suggestions and use chicken broth, and saute celery with the onion and bacon, but because it is summer and corn on the cob is everywhere I am using fresh corn (6-8 ears). I didn't see anyone on any of the recipes for "corn chowder" that cuts the corn off the cob and then adds the cob for flavor while simmering. It makes a HUGE difference! I made the chicken tortilla soup from this site and added corn on the cob, and simmered the cob in the soup! Absolutely fantastic! It adds soooo much flavor and the cream from the cob thickens it perfectly.... Ohhhhh I can't wait! I love corn on the cob and corn chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This was a really great simple recipe. Not sure I'd change anything about it. There's all kinds of things I'm sure you could add, but this tasted fine as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domestically Challenged Grrl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This is a good start, but I definitely felt the need to spice it up a bit. I added some crushed red pepper and my regular "spice it till it tastes right" formula of oregano, garlic powder, salt, pepper, and parsley. It was a bit on the thin side, so I did add instant mashed potatoes and even ended up adding cornstarch at the end to make it thicker. With my changes, it was a big hit at Christmas dinner and tasted even better the next day! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Sutton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Delicious and easy. Perfect with some artisan bread on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
totally beefed it up - oh well - used half and half, added celery and carrots - 5 stars with those changes - oh yes, cajun seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
it was great but as like everybody else said it was thin so, I added some flour to it which made it better! did 4 pieces of bacon instead of 6 and put it in the pot. Put two tbsp of bacon drippings in, pinch of Cheyenne pepper to give it a kick, a lil more pepper, no salt, 2 extra whole kernel cans, 2 small onions, 1/4 of lb potatoes, 1/4 water, 1 cup half and half, some garlic powder and 1 tbsp of oregano and basil! it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States