A Little Country Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
This cake is very very good.It is moist and light with a wonderful spicy flavor.Yummy! Good any time of year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
didn't like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
As I write this review this recipe has a misleading average rating of 3-stars – two reviews, both in 2005. Well, it’s now five years later and I’m hoping to change that. I used vegetable oil rather than the melted Crisco and, to make sure this appealed to everyone, I omitted the raisins. I strictly followed the remaining instructions and ingredients for the batter except for one thing - don’t beat the batter at med-high speed unless you want splattered batter all over the place! And beating it five minutes isn’t necessary. Just mix it at a reasonable speed until blended. This cake is simply roll your eyes, curl your toes delicious! I didn’t use the frosting recipe only because I was using a pan where I wanted to show the definition of its design, so I made a glaze of 1/3 c. each of butter and brown sugar, about 1 T. of corn syrup for shine and a dribble of half-and-half. I let that come to a boil, boiled for two minutes, then stirred in a capful of vanilla. I brushed it all over the warm cake. I know this cake would be good just as written, just subbing butter for the Crisco called for in the frosting. But this glaze I used may just have stepped this up to another level of “D” good. (A little rum or rum extract would have been good in that glaze too – or maple syrup) Whether it’s with the frosting called for or my ad libbed glaze, you won’t regret making this cake. This recipe has been needlessly ignored for too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I've been on a pumpkin kick lately--bread, muffins, pie and now this cake. Gotta get my fix after the shortage last year! ;-) This cake is very simple to put together and I like that it doesn't make a huge one. I didn't have enough crisco so I subbed 1 cup of canola oil. I also borrowed Naples34102 glaze recipe (which is simple and perfect and would be fabulous on so many things--thank you!) instead of the frosting. Watch the baking time--mine was plenty done after only 45 minutes. I used my Pampered Chef 10" square stoneware baking pan. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Republic, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Wow! I am so glad I made this cake! I baked this in a bundt pan, but wasn't sure there would be enough batter since the recipe suggested using one 10-inch cake pan. However, it was most certainly a full-size cake. It was great just a couple of hours after I made it, but the texture changed and made it even better after several hours longer. For this reason, I will bake this several hours ahead of time in the future. I have to admit that I used a variation of Naples' glaze instead of the icing in the recipe (maybe this had an effect on the resulting texture change?), but it would be terrific with a cream cheese frosting as well. I used cream instead of half&half in the glaze (Naples' recipe) and used quite a bit more than a dribble. But after I brushed it on the cake, it really soaked in and definitely added something special. PS. I omitted the raisins and didn't miss a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Very tasty and moist. It kept very well for a week in the refrigerator. I used fresh pumpkin, substituted half brown sugar and skipped the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Amazing!!! Used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar, and I had no cloves. Everything else was exactly the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroliney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This is pretty close to my favourite recipe that I misplaced (it lacks 2 cups of bran cereal). Also, I always replace vegetable shortening with oil or butter - as trans fats are nasty, nasty things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This was fantastic! I have never bought or used shortening so I subbed vegetable oil. Made in a bundt pan and just did a glaze on top. It's so good it doesn't need frosting but I am sure it would be delicious frosted as well. I see myself making this often in the fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamers9050


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Mini Pumpkin Cheesecakes

See a few time-saving tricks for making easy mini pumpkin cheesecakes.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States