A Jerky Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This was okay. I felt like it was missing something (not sure what)? I might try it again and tinker with the recipe a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was yummy! I used half as much chicken (there's only 2 of us) and half of a habanero, then I cut the chicken into strips and put it on skewers. We grilled the chicken after it marinated overnight, and it turned out great! We turned ours into a salad, and I used the leftover marinade (after boiling it) to make a vinaigrette with a little olive oil and balsamic vinegar, and that was our salad dressing! We will definitely make this often- it was easy and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I wasn't to impressed with this recipe. I followed it to the T and even decided to make it a second time with a jalepeno pepper instead and still did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This is fantastic and SO easy! A single big habanero is just enough spice - use two if you want it very warm! I was surprised to read the review from the woman whose hands were burning after cutting the pepper, but I guess it's all in what you're used to. We cook a lot of spicy food down here, and I've chopped up a dozen habaneros at a time before without getting even a finger tingle. I'd never heard of anyone wearing rubber gloves before. :S
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This is a delicious marinade. Not a typical jerk chicken recipe, but it is well worth trying. I chose to make this as part of an effort to cut back on calories lately. A couple of notes: I doubled the recipe, and the amount was just right. There is also no need to pour any reserved marinade over the cooked meat. The broiled meat was perfect without any additional sauce. We actually used the extra marinade as a dipping sauce and decided the chicken was better without it. Will definitely file this one away and make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Maybe I did something wrong, I did use jalapenos because of earlier reviews. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly and even marianated it for 5 hours. This is not what I remember and was not spicy at all. It was flavorful, but not Jery Chicken which is what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This recipe turned out great. I have traveled to jamaica and wanted to recreate jerk chicken. My only problem was that I couldn't get a habenero pepper. I used jalepenos instead, but it was not spicy enough for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Wish we could give this 4.5 stars. It was very good, and very flavorful. We cooked it on the grill instead of in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric and Jenn R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Sheppard Afb, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Pretty decent recipe. I couldn't find any habaneros at the grocery store so I substituted 2 table spoons of diced jalapeno's and they had some spice to them but not enough to compel you to grab the closest cold beverage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lacylue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
My family only changed this recipe a bit, but I think the changes made a GREAT end product; everyone absolutely loved it! We doubled the entire sauce recipe except soy sauce (6 Tbsp), used only 1 habenaro, and used 1/2 of a small, yellow onion. Also, we added a couple chunks of frozen mango and about 6 Tbsp of orange juice to the sauce. Served with Red Beans and Rice and roasted cajun corn on the cob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States