A Jerky Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This turned out great and it wasn't a lot of work! Made a couple of changes based on what I had on hand--didn't use the sesame oil and used green onion instead of regular. Also cooked on my George Foreman grill instead of broiling. It was so easy and spicy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
November 12, 2007: This is an AWESOME receipt!! I did not have any habanera peppers (nor will I ever) so I used 2 small HOT chili peppers and the equivalent number of HOT jalapeño pepper slices. It was a little too hot for my normal taste buds; however, the overall flavor is absolutely GREAT! I also had some fresh parsley and some fresh cilantro and used a little of each of these. Cilantro is a definite must here. I had one very large chicken breast (.7 #) but went ahead with the whole marinade receipt since I didn’t think the above receipt had enough fluid. This was about the correct amount of marinade for 2 servings. I also had creamy chicken with rice and a small salad. The extra marinade was excellent on both the chicken and the rice. Also, 1/4 teaspoon of onion per serving! Give me a break. I used 1 teaspoon of onion powder and 2 would have been better. Try one medium sized onion. Jan. 28, 2008: Second time. This is one extremely good chicken marinade. I marinated one chicken breast (sliced into two thinner pieces) for 24 hours and then used my Forman grill for 6 minutes. Perfect! I had long grain white rice with the chicken (sauce poured over everything) and had a spinach cranberry salad with homemade balsamic vinegar with poppy and sesame seed dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
watch out for the habaneros. next time i'll only use half or de-seed it first. i made it as a sauce instead of a marinade by slightly sauteeing the chicken first, then adding the sauce until it reduced some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This was tasty and easy, but a little sweeter than I usually look for in a good jerk recipe. Might try some extra spice and a little less brown sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishEyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Excellent! We had no habanero, just used a tsp of red pepper instead. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
My hubby, 4 kids and I LOVED this! I pureed red pepper with the rest of the marinade since I had one to use up, and it was delicious! I'd love to double it next time to make more sauce to pour over the rice, also. THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
My husband and I enjoyed this very much. This is one I am going to try this summer on the grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHINLYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cortland, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Great recipe! I was a little scared of the habanero at first but it was fantastic. Even my 7yr old and 5 yr old loved it. This will definatley be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This recipe was delicious! I doubled the marinade recipe and after pan frying the chicken to brown added the rest to make a sauce. I served the chicken over coconut rice and with Pineapple Mango Salsa. They went together perfectly. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I am a firm believer in using the senses to cook a recipe. If, during the cooking process, a dish looks visibly unappealing or smells unappetizing, my opinion of it is often affected upon tasting. This recipe violated my sense-oriented cooking methods. I did not care for the smell of the marinade as I loaded the ingredients into my food processor. I could not continue with the recipe. I DO NOT recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States