A Jerky Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This was excellent. I modified a few things. First off, I doubled all the ingredients so I could make extra sauce. Instead of a tsp, I used a half of an onion, I pressed the garlic instead of chopping it, I substituted Tamari Sauce for the Soy Sauce, and I used four habaneros. Only use more than one habanero if you like very spicy foods. FYI, please use the orange or red habaneros. My local grocery stores carry mostly green ones and you have to dig into the piles of peppers to find the correctly colored ones. Do not choose the peppers if they are soft. Another thing, I didn't drain the marinade. I put everything into a tray and cooked it at 350 for 10 min, and then broiled on high for 5 min ea side (and I basted with the extra sauce in between flips). This works great on top of uncle bens 90 second whole grain medley rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I'll admit: I've never tried "jerk" anything, so I don't have anything to compare this to, but I thought this chicken was delicious. Spicy, but not too hot (I'll probably go a bit hotter next time, and so tasty! Everyone loved it. I was a bit concerned that, because my broiler cooks so hot, my chicken would burn on the outside and not cook through, so I baked it in the oven at 350 for about 10 minutes, and then broiled each side for 5 minutes - PERFECT! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This was a little too bland, but I only marinated the chicken for an hour, per the recipe, next time I will marinatte it for at least 3-4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This was an excellent meal! The marinade/sauce was really great. I doubled the marinade because we love sauce, however, I only used 1/2 of one habanero pepper (pulp removed). I was worried about the chicken being too hot for my 4 year old and 8 year old to tolerate. It wasn't. Next time, I will probably add a little bit more of a pepper. We served this with rice and black beans. Very Good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
YUM YUM YUM YUM YUMMMMY!!! I looked over this recipe, and happened to have all the Ingredients for it, so I quickly put it all together, ran some errands, came back, made the chicken and it was like angels singing! The chicken was amazingly GOOOOD!! My husband loved it SO much, he went out and bought the ingredients AGAIN! So, thank you so much for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
The whole family agrees, this is a keeper. Just the right amount of spice and heat. We grilled the chicken and it turned out perfectly. We've had Jamaican Jerk chicken in the past that, while it was very flavorful and tasty, it was as fire-breathing hot coming out as it was going in. This recipe is perfect and it makes great leftovers when stored with the extra sauce. Served it with grilled zucchini and yellow squash and brown rice with black beans, corn, cilantro and taco seasoning (taco seasoning was from this site called Taco Seasoning I). All went perfectly together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Asya Besova Cooley
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
A little bit spicy, but the best Jamaican chicken you can get in the U.S.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asya Besova Cooley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Voronezh, Voronezh Oblast, Russia
Living In: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
this chicken was so good i made double the sauce because what the recipe called for didn't look enough for me. i added 2 hobaneros instead of one because we like things hot. it's not that hot with one because of the brown sugar it calms the heat and makes it really sweet. it was the perfect balance of sweet and hot. i will def be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Quite good. I made it for my husband and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
If I could rate this 4.5 stars I would. This recipe was super easy and very good. I didn't add the habanero pepper, simply because I didn't have one on hand and didn't want to go to the store for it. I just sprinkled in 2 tsp. of curshed red pepper and it still tasted very good! I am sure the habanero pepper would have been even better. I will try it with a habanero next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janene

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States