A Hearty Green Bean and Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This is a thanksgiving tradition now. I am known for my sausage and green bean casserole during the holidays! Thanks for this recipe, I changed it only by adding one more can of green beans. I have also halved this recipe for a side for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Balsam Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Providence Village, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
This was delicious but still quite salty, even the way that I made it. In lieu of 3 of the ingredients, I subbed Wampler's bulk turkey sausage, Healthy Request Cream of Mushroom soup, and light soy sauce. I did use regular French's French fried onions, though. For these 4 ingredients the sodium content per portion is 886 mg. (a bit less). I doubled the garlic, added a few drops of red hot pepper sauce and used French cut green beans. I would make 2 more changes next time: sub unsalted chopped nuts for the fatty fried onions (it needs some crunch), and also add some sliced fresh mushrooms. Then it would be a 5 star recipe!! Do try this--it is GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I accendentally picked up the wrong condensed soups at the store, so I made this with one can of condensed cream of celery and one of condensed cream of chicken. I added in some sliced mushrooms to make up for that fact. It was incredible, though. VERY hearty and relatively healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
This was excellent! I made it for a dinner party and it was a big hit. Even the leftovers were tasty! I added a package of fresh mushrooms while cooking the sausage. The garlic and soy sauce give it wonderful flavor! The best I've ever tasted, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I tried this for Christmas dinner as a twist on the original. My meat-loving dad thought it was great, but I think most of us preferred the meatless original. I added pimentos to give it some Christmas color. We all liked the onions layered inside as well as on top. It's a great change of pace, especially for sausage and meat lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Served this at a Christmas dinner for 23 people. It was declared a winner by everyone.The sausage brought looks of surprise by many, but all thought it added to the flavor. I used canned beans and added an extra can. I ,also, added slivered almonds to the beans for some extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I was looking for a new green bean casserole and I have found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jofis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keysville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Circleville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I did not like this at all. I did not use any salt but thoought it too salty. Some of my guests liked it but I would not make it again. It was easy to make. That is the only good thing I can say about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This has great variation possibilities. Sausage could be replaced with cooked chicken. I served mine with cornbread muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
By the way, you can make this with lower fat by substituting low fat sausage (Wampler's makes a good one) and low fat cream of mushroom soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States