A Hearty Green Bean and Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
By the way, you can make this with lower fat by substituting low fat sausage (Wampler's makes a good one) and low fat cream of mushroom soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I did not like this at all. I did not use any salt but thoought it too salty. Some of my guests liked it but I would not make it again. It was easy to make. That is the only good thing I can say about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
This was excellent! I made it for a dinner party and it was a big hit. Even the leftovers were tasty! I added a package of fresh mushrooms while cooking the sausage. The garlic and soy sauce give it wonderful flavor! The best I've ever tasted, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
This was delicious but still quite salty, even the way that I made it. In lieu of 3 of the ingredients, I subbed Wampler's bulk turkey sausage, Healthy Request Cream of Mushroom soup, and light soy sauce. I did use regular French's French fried onions, though. For these 4 ingredients the sodium content per portion is 886 mg. (a bit less). I doubled the garlic, added a few drops of red hot pepper sauce and used French cut green beans. I would make 2 more changes next time: sub unsalted chopped nuts for the fatty fried onions (it needs some crunch), and also add some sliced fresh mushrooms. Then it would be a 5 star recipe!! Do try this--it is GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
this meal was a huge hit at thanksgiving dinner last year. Once you have it this way, you will never be satisfied with anyother green bean caserole, its fantasitic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This is a thanksgiving tradition now. I am known for my sausage and green bean casserole during the holidays! Thanks for this recipe, I changed it only by adding one more can of green beans. I have also halved this recipe for a side for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Balsam Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Providence Village, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I accendentally picked up the wrong condensed soups at the store, so I made this with one can of condensed cream of celery and one of condensed cream of chicken. I added in some sliced mushrooms to make up for that fact. It was incredible, though. VERY hearty and relatively healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Very good. Made for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Very delicious, the sausage adds a nice touch of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Great recipe, but needs more green beans. I halved the recipe and it was a wonderful addition to our Thanksgiving meal. Tastes more like sausage gravy than healthy green beans. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States