A Hearty Green Bean and Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Loved it! I used chicken sausage instead and skipped the soy saice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
absolutely loved this!!!! finally my green bean casserole has search has come to an end... ALTHOUGH I didn't have french fried onions... I thought I did but when I reached in the cupboard for the container... IT ended up being Lo Mein Noodles!!! ITS OKAY!!!! It still turned out great! Maybe the soy sauce was the secret ingredient here.... I cut the recipe in half because its only me and my boyfriend at home... Not enough freezer space to freeze half of it... It was really simple to do. Also for my pork sausage I had Jimmy Dean breakfast patties in the freezer.. at first I just thawed 6 of them... but decided to use all 8... So i had a little more sausage than the recipe called for. Still happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by undiesinabundle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Medford, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Marshfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This is just delish. Thanks, Leepergal~ During the holiday meals, green bean and broccolli casseroles have been outlawed by our family - they're so overdone. However, we make up for it with suppers between the same old expected holidays meals. This dish is always on the table now. We'eve even stirred in big chunks of leftover roasted turkey and substituted maple syrup & green onions for the soy sauce, but we always stir in a handful of the french-fried onion rings in with the beans as well as baking them on top. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I tried this for Christmas dinner as a twist on the original. My meat-loving dad thought it was great, but I think most of us preferred the meatless original. I added pimentos to give it some Christmas color. We all liked the onions layered inside as well as on top. It's a great change of pace, especially for sausage and meat lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I was looking for a new green bean casserole and I have found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jofis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keysville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Circleville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Yummy, I loved it! Everyone gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I prepared this dish the night before a work function, then had a few friends over. At 2 am they raided the fridge and were eating it cold, raving about how delicious it was. The recipe is so easy that I whipped up another one right away and the people at work enjoyed it as well. My friends asked me to make another one at the next gathering I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This has great variation possibilities. Sausage could be replaced with cooked chicken. I served mine with cornbread muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was very tasty and a nice change to the traditional casserole. I did leave out the soy sauce based on the reviews of the salty taste. I used 3 cans of green beans, extra fried onions and added sliced almonds. I took it to a church dinner and had no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Just the same old greenbean casserole except with sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States