A Fragrant, Spicy Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This is scrumptious! I never thought this would turn out SO well or be SO delicious. Thanks for this great submission Julia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary p. furlong

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Verdun, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This was good, but needed just a little tweaking. I decreased the liquid in the rice, and increased it in the lentil mixture. I used parsley instead of cilantro since I had it on hand. If using as a side dish, I'd say this makes at least 8 servings. This is a bit labor-intensive, but the results are very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Big hit with the whole family! I can't help it, I always feel like recipes need more spice and other flavors, so I chuck a lot of extras into everything I cook. Either way, this was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Very yummy rice! This does take a bit of time to prepare...I realized after already committing to cooking this that I only had green lentils (ALWAYS have red lentils!!) and also had only red and yellow peppers! So, used those and did not cook either the rice or veggies for close to the 20 minutes called for. I also left out the cilantro sprigs for garnish as hubby and I both dislike cilantro (ALOT)! Aside from that, great rice...we really enjoyed it, thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This was delicious. I did add some onion while cooking the mushrooms. And I added a little extra cumin, coriander, turmeric, and cardamom (I like spice). This is definitely going to be something I start making fairly regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Flabors are outstanding! I omitted the lentils and extra liquid and simply sauteed the vegetables and spices (including onions and peas) and served the vegetable mixture over the spicy rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I changed a lot of the veggie ingredient in this recipe because I didn't have them all on hand. Overall the flavor of the rice was great. This is the first time I have used my garam marsala and it was a fragment, tasty spice blend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This was quite good! I made it without the lentils becasue I served a lentil salad along side of it, but I am sure they will be tasty in it next time. I left out the peppers, and I think raisins will a good addition next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I loved this recipe! I'm eating it right now and everybody at work is commenting on how good it smells and looks! I added a little corn and carrot and some cooked chopped shrimp too!It wasvery time consuming to make though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This was very good. I LOVE all the spices and I used quite a bit. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States