A Firefighter's Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
I can't make it perfect but its delicious and grate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juvy May ßießer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
I really liked this meatloaf. I found the ingredients amounts sort of odd, esp. the onions though. I only had 1 lb of ground beef, so I could only make 1/2 recipe which was fine. I used Trader Joes 96% lean ground beef and their Kansas City BBQ sauce. I think the salsa was ChiChis brand, just a simple basic salsa. I finely minced the white onion, being as there wasn't much. I am glad I did, because after one hour of baking they were still oddly sort of crunchy. Unless, that was the salsa. I didn't have wheat bread, but I had parmesan bread sticks from Sam's club. For 1/2 the recipe I just used 1/2 of a bread stick. I didn't soak it in water. I just poured the salsa on top while I measured out the rest of the ingredients. I didn't have to do the draining part as my ground beef was so lean. I baked it in an oval shape in a foil lined pan I sprayed with cooking spray. It seemed done after an hour. I sprinkled it with a little garlic salt and topped with the bbq sauce. I probably added a bit more bbq sauce than suggested. I have never added that, that I can think of to a meatloaf, and liked that. I put it back in the oven for 5-7 minutes with the oven turned off. This was easy for a last minute meal. I would make it again. A nice change to salty seasoning packets. With the salsa and bbq sauce it is a little bit different though than the usual beef gravy type meatloaf. 1/2 the recipe, made as written here, yielded 4 good sized servings at about 220 calories each. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
The family loved this recipe. The beauty of this recipe is that I usually have the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Rather nice not sure if I would make it again. Still looking for that No.1 Meatloaf Recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This is the best moatloaf I have had yet. I made it just as the recipe describes, though I did add a couple of squirts of sriracha. I also added an egg to bind it together. It must be the addition of salsa and the whole grain mustard. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin Dittrick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
First, this was really good as is. My wife said, "Don't get a big head, but this might be the best meatloaf I've ever had." She doesn't like meatloaf or ketchup so that's saying something. Here's what I changed, no bbq sauce (seemed weird but I'll try it next time), added some breadcrumbs to the wet bread, and because we looked at each other and said in unison, meatloaf with no egg?, I added one. Delicious but still fell apart trying to slice it. So next time, TWO eggs, breadcrumbs and no wet bread, the moisture in the salsa was plenty to keep it moist, more green pepper and maybe hot salsa. New go to meatloaf so I'll make this over and over, with those tweaks. And I'll consider doubling it because this won't last through lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spolley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I have always been one for hating meatloafs... ever since I was a kid I've disliked them. Well, my husband has finally converted me. This week is the second time we've made this one and it's been great both times! Not dry at all. It's very moist and actually has very good flavour. I'm quite impressed with it. I would have again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This recipe was delicious! My husband and I added a bit of cayenne, chili powder, and some chopped jalapeno pepper to give it some extra kick. We also topped half of it with barbeque sauce, and half of it with ketchup. We preferred the side with the ketchup on it, because it didn't take away the taste of the seasonings, as much as the barbeque sauce did. Barbeque sauce also made the dish too sweet for our taste. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This was great! Only thing I did by mistake was mix the BBQ sauce in,and later realized it so ended up putting more on top (per the instructions). We really liked this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
added a diced chipotle pepper and adobo sauce, Sweet Baby Ray's bbq sauce as well as the salsa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States