A Different Carrot Raisin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2005
This salad is excellent! Love the walnuts and coconut in it! Will try next time with fat-free mayo and sour cream to decrease the fat content but will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This hit the spot for a side dish with our BBQ!.. I had to make a few substitutions due to what I had on hand. I used pecans in place of the walnuts and brown sugar, which I didn't measure, but was probably a couple tsp... I added a little extra shredded coconut too, but I think that's what makes this dish a 5 star! Tastes best when really cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
It is the Carrot Salad that my Aunt Alice made. She would make it on a handheld grater as electic shredders were not made yet, for special dinners like Easter, Thanksgiving and dinner parties that my parents would have. I mayself made for family dinners. The only thing that was different was there was no suger used as my dad was a diabetic(sp)and she and I used mayo or the salad dressing that many use for mayo instead of creamy salad dressing and nothing was mesured (sp). I will be making this for my family very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2004
This was Fabulous!!! I didn't have any walnuts so I substituted pecans, and it was still great! There wasn't but a tiny bit left after I took it to a Cub Scout Banquet! Terrific flavors. And the coconut was an added bonus. definitely a make again salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odell, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marseilles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
This was great for finding a new way to introduce carrots to my 2 year old. We absolutely loved the flavors. The only change we made is substituting Splenda instead of sugar. Definitely will make again. Wonderful summer dish to keep the heat out of the kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I made this as part of my Thanksgiving menu, and it was absolutely yummy! I love carrot raisin salad, and this is the way it should taste. I doubled the recipe because I knew it would get gobbled up. At first I was a bit concerned about the amount of vinegar, because when I sampled it right after mixing everything together, the vinegar seemed a bit overpowering, so I added an extra teaspoon of sugar to balance it out. However, after allowing it to refrigerate for a day, it tasted perfect. Thanks for a really good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
I made this awhile back and forgot to review. It was a huge hit at the Bar-B-Q I brought it to. A good take-along dish that not everybody shows up with! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Audubon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Awesome! I changed it a bit per our tastes-- used slivered almonds, skipped the coconut, and used a mix of mayo and slaw dressing in place of sour cream. Added a couple of sliced apples, and voila! Crisp, fresh, tangy, and light, perfect for a summer salad or side dish. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
GREAT recipe! I doubled it, using fresh carrots from the local farm market. I used 1/2 cup fat free mayo and 1/2 cup low fat mayo, and also used fat free sour cream. I've never made carrot raisin salad before, so I was very happy when it came out so good! I love the addition of walnuts and coconut -- yum!! I noticed several reviewers also added apples, that sounds great, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States