A Different Carrot Raisin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
Very good basic salad. I used a little less mayo than was indicated and used pecans instead of walnuts since that's what I had on hand. I also chopped up one and a half red delicious apples and tossed them in a little lemon juice to keep them from browning and added those to the salad. It gives the salad a great crunch and some more substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
I loved it! I made it twice. The second time I added half the amount of mayo and sour cream and my family liked it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
This salad is excellent! Love the walnuts and coconut in it! Will try next time with fat-free mayo and sour cream to decrease the fat content but will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
GOOD AND EASY. I USED 20 OZ. CAN DRAINED CRUSHED PINEAPPLE INSTEAD OF COCONUT. I USED FAT FREE SOUR CREAM,AND CHOPPED THE WALNUTS A LITTLE. I ADDED ABOUT A TEASPOON OF PEPPER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2004
This was Fabulous!!! I didn't have any walnuts so I substituted pecans, and it was still great! There wasn't but a tiny bit left after I took it to a Cub Scout Banquet! Terrific flavors. And the coconut was an added bonus. definitely a make again salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odell, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marseilles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
It is the Carrot Salad that my Aunt Alice made. She would make it on a handheld grater as electic shredders were not made yet, for special dinners like Easter, Thanksgiving and dinner parties that my parents would have. I mayself made for family dinners. The only thing that was different was there was no suger used as my dad was a diabetic(sp)and she and I used mayo or the salad dressing that many use for mayo instead of creamy salad dressing and nothing was mesured (sp). I will be making this for my family very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
This was great for finding a new way to introduce carrots to my 2 year old. We absolutely loved the flavors. The only change we made is substituting Splenda instead of sugar. Definitely will make again. Wonderful summer dish to keep the heat out of the kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
my family thought this was so so
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
very easy, very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2004
Quick, easy to prepare, basic carrot salad recipe. Definately a make-again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States