A Different Carrot Raisin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I liked it better than straight mayo based carrot salad, but it was still bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I've been craving carrots lately, so I used my Pampered Chef chopper and chopped up some baby carrots I had on hand, added raisins and sunflower nuts (1/2 cup) and then used your dressing recipe. Delicious! Can't wait to try again with coconut; I normally have it in my pantry but no luck today :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I made this as a side dish for the adults at my son's 8th birthday party and the grown ups who actually tried it raved about it. I give it a four because not many people cared to try it. I myself found it delicious and would definately make it again for myself and my family but not for gatherings. Maybe I will play a little with the presentation to create more appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABESGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
The mayo and sour cream are a bit heavy (although easy to adjust to taste), but the addition of coconut is great! I grated some fresh ginger into mine for a little extra tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
GREAT recipe! I doubled it, using fresh carrots from the local farm market. I used 1/2 cup fat free mayo and 1/2 cup low fat mayo, and also used fat free sour cream. I've never made carrot raisin salad before, so I was very happy when it came out so good! I love the addition of walnuts and coconut -- yum!! I noticed several reviewers also added apples, that sounds great, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Awesome! I changed it a bit per our tastes-- used slivered almonds, skipped the coconut, and used a mix of mayo and slaw dressing in place of sour cream. Added a couple of sliced apples, and voila! Crisp, fresh, tangy, and light, perfect for a summer salad or side dish. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
I made this awhile back and forgot to review. It was a huge hit at the Bar-B-Q I brought it to. A good take-along dish that not everybody shows up with! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Audubon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I made this as part of my Thanksgiving menu, and it was absolutely yummy! I love carrot raisin salad, and this is the way it should taste. I doubled the recipe because I knew it would get gobbled up. At first I was a bit concerned about the amount of vinegar, because when I sampled it right after mixing everything together, the vinegar seemed a bit overpowering, so I added an extra teaspoon of sugar to balance it out. However, after allowing it to refrigerate for a day, it tasted perfect. Thanks for a really good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
Very good basic salad. I used a little less mayo than was indicated and used pecans instead of walnuts since that's what I had on hand. I also chopped up one and a half red delicious apples and tossed them in a little lemon juice to keep them from browning and added those to the salad. It gives the salad a great crunch and some more substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
This salad is excellent! Love the walnuts and coconut in it! Will try next time with fat-free mayo and sour cream to decrease the fat content but will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States