A Different Carrot Raisin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I liked it better than straight mayo based carrot salad, but it was still bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I've been craving carrots lately, so I used my Pampered Chef chopper and chopped up some baby carrots I had on hand, added raisins and sunflower nuts (1/2 cup) and then used your dressing recipe. Delicious! Can't wait to try again with coconut; I normally have it in my pantry but no luck today :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I made this as a side dish for the adults at my son's 8th birthday party and the grown ups who actually tried it raved about it. I give it a four because not many people cared to try it. I myself found it delicious and would definately make it again for myself and my family but not for gatherings. Maybe I will play a little with the presentation to create more appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABESGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
The mayo and sour cream are a bit heavy (although easy to adjust to taste), but the addition of coconut is great! I grated some fresh ginger into mine for a little extra tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
GREAT recipe! I doubled it, using fresh carrots from the local farm market. I used 1/2 cup fat free mayo and 1/2 cup low fat mayo, and also used fat free sour cream. I've never made carrot raisin salad before, so I was very happy when it came out so good! I love the addition of walnuts and coconut -- yum!! I noticed several reviewers also added apples, that sounds great, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Awesome! I changed it a bit per our tastes-- used slivered almonds, skipped the coconut, and used a mix of mayo and slaw dressing in place of sour cream. Added a couple of sliced apples, and voila! Crisp, fresh, tangy, and light, perfect for a summer salad or side dish. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
I made this awhile back and forgot to review. It was a huge hit at the Bar-B-Q I brought it to. A good take-along dish that not everybody shows up with! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Audubon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I made this as part of my Thanksgiving menu, and it was absolutely yummy! I love carrot raisin salad, and this is the way it should taste. I doubled the recipe because I knew it would get gobbled up. At first I was a bit concerned about the amount of vinegar, because when I sampled it right after mixing everything together, the vinegar seemed a bit overpowering, so I added an extra teaspoon of sugar to balance it out. However, after allowing it to refrigerate for a day, it tasted perfect. Thanks for a really good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
Very good basic salad. I used a little less mayo than was indicated and used pecans instead of walnuts since that's what I had on hand. I also chopped up one and a half red delicious apples and tossed them in a little lemon juice to keep them from browning and added those to the salad. It gives the salad a great crunch and some more substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
This salad is excellent! Love the walnuts and coconut in it! Will try next time with fat-free mayo and sour cream to decrease the fat content but will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States