A Baker's Secret for Bread Machines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I mostly am a veggie now, so I used butter for the lard (Lacto-Ovo Veggie) and it turned out okay. Was it great? Not really, just good. It did not revolutionize my bread baking. I really wanted it to, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Liedel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Horrible texture, weird waxy taste. No sugar to make it rise nicely. Cannot recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I have been looking for a bread recipe that does not taste like it came out of a bread machine and I have finally found it. I did make a couple of slight variations. I used butter instead of lard and I added a tablespoon of salt and omitted the cinnamon. Other than that I followed the recipe although I am not one to measure anything exactly and it still came out a winner!! I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
This bread was perfect for eating & dipping. Not too sweet or full of other flavors it lends itself well for serving with dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Yoho

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
you seemed to have forgoten the sugar for the yeast to rise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Bread didn't rise, even after following the "rules schmules" offered by this "master baker". VERY disappointed with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Josey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
With the exception of the cinnamon, I made this recipe to the letter...the bread rose beautifully and had great texture and flavour. Going to make again for sure...(gotta make sure I didn't just get lucky) :) j/k thanks Rob!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patrick Luce
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I did not have a problem with this rising as some reviewers have...in fact, I thought it was going to rise too high and open my bread machine. But it was perfect, a great loaf of bread. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
It made a half-size tasteless loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
I did everything the directions said...even made sure all ingredients were room temp and used a thermometer to make sure water was the correct temp. The loaf barely rose (I even checked my yeast before using by proofing some first-it was very active!). I am thinking it might be my bread machine...I can make great breads from the dough cycle but I just can not seem to make good bread IN the bread machine! I will try this recipe again--as the flavor was good and since so many other reviewers had success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States