A Baker's Secret for Bread Machines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Love it!! My 7 year old ate 1/2 the loaf at dinner last night. I am making another loaf today as I type. I'll expand and add things to it now but the basic is outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Columbia, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This is the best bread machine white bread that I've ever made. Congratulations to the baker who submitted it!! And THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I have mixed feelings about this bread. It raises quite nicely, and makes a great soft sandwich loaf, and the crust is soft. But it's not the best tasting bread even after adding a tablespoon of Sugar. I want to give it a 3 stars for taste buy a 5 stars for texture and final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Always works for me. This is how I do almost every bread recipe in my bread machine now, the yeast first way is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kTd86

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Im so happy that I found this recipe! Excellent! I followed some advice and added olive oil instead of lard and added 2 tbsps sugar for some added sweetness. I also didnt have bread flour but it turned out great with unbleached all purpose flour. Turned out yummy!! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Like many, I subbed margarine for the lard, put the yeast on top and added a tablespoon of sugar - and this bread is the best that's come out of my bread machine yet! The crust was actually edible instead of a near-steel casing, and the bread was light and soft instead of almost-gooey. This will definitely be made more often at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greencastle, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This recipe was wonderful. Just put a pinch of sugar in it. Will have to try a different setting on my bread machine and put in more sugar, as it didnt rise as much as I was hoping. My dh loved it, and am doing another loaf right now. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This bread was very easy to make. It has a great texture. Add cinammon for more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMYOHO

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I used butter instead of lard and think I halved the salt and tossed in some brown sugar. The loaf was pretty tasteless and fell a bit on top (too much moisture) but it had the best texture of any loaf I've made, so I'll have to study the recipe and see if I can make this basic recipe taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Kennedy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Exelent used nothing else for 2 weeks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter077

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pattaya, Chon Buri, Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States