The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Amazing recipe. I needed a little more flour but I expected that from the comments here. I had cookies for days. So delicious. I'm trying half the portions this one yields and I will eat them all night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This was the first time I did sugar cookies that turned out perfect. This recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I added an extra cup of sugar and an extra teaspoon of vanilla like previous reviews have said. I didn't add in any extra flour. I let it chill overnight and when I went to roll it out it was very sticky. I put a ton of flour on them and that seemed to help a little. However, they were still really sticky. Then when it came to baking, I tried a greased and un-greased baking sheet and with both, the dough stuck like CRAZY. This ruined the cookies. However, they tasted very good. For the next batch I added a LOT more flour. This helped the stickiness a lot and the cookies came off the pan fine. However, at this point the cookies didn't taste good anymore. They tasted very floury. I won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I dont know what happened but these cookies taste HORRIBLE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This taste pretty good, and stay soft for a week or so, but can certainly be real sticky when rolling out. My suggestions that made it work for me are: - refrigerate them for overnight to 24 hours - it really does make most of the problems rolling them out go away - use powdered sugar to roll them out; brush off what you can before putting them on the sheet - roll them thicker than usual - I rolled them at 1/4" minimum and they came out great - cook them on parchment paper and only leave them in the pan for a few mins before transferring them to a cooling rack, etc - best for icing once they cool; not as good for using pearls, colored sugar, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
The dough was extremely crumbley and the cookies have no flavour. I felt like it was alot of work for a disappointing turnout. Might consider trying it again, but maybe with butter next time instead of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristin Fisher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This dough is soft and sticky, even when chilled overnight. It is not sweet, the taste is terrible, and not a sugar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Reed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
These are the best Sugar cookies that I've ever had. Extra buttery goodness! A hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I have been in search of a good sugar cookie recipe and I would say this is it! The first time I made it I followed the recipe exactly and it was good, but this time I followed some others advice and added 1 extra cup of granulated sugar and 1 cup of powdered sugar. This addition made it perfect and didn't seem to effect how they turned out. Also, I read some bad reviews because of how sticky the dough was.....I can't stress enough how important it is to chill the dough before you start working with it!!! Makes all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This is my 3rd attempt at trying to make cut out cookies and based on reviews I decided to use this recipe. I did change it up a bit by adding 1c sugar, 1c powered sugar and 2 tablespoons of vanilla. I do recommend chilling it overnight in Saran wrap. When I was ready to use it I sectioned it in 4's and refrigerated the rest until I ready for my next batch. I did knead it first and the dough was perfect. I used part flour and part powered sugar, {sparingly}, to roll it out. I also didnt use a rolling pin, but with the palm of my hand. I baked at 350 vs 400 degrees for 8 minutes. Amazing! Golden bottom with nice soft cookie. My husband didnt even wait for them to be frosted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 6,583) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States