The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I live in Japan. I'm using a Japanese oven (think Easy Bake oven on steroids) and medium flour. The first time I made this, I used a half butter designed for cooking and I hand blended everything. My batter came out runny and I made circle cookies that were more the consistency of cake (I cooked them for 8min until they were slightly brown). They were still pretty good and not greasy, but I really wanted to use my cookie cutters. The second time, I invested in butter (4$ for about 1.5 cups) and pulled out my electric whisk (I hate cleaning the thing), and what a difference it made. I chilled the dough for about 2hrs in the fridge and kneaded and rolled it to make the cookies. I took another review's advice and used sugar on my board to make the cookies not stick as I cut, and it made a big difference in texture and the cookies were really easy to cut. Even though my cookies were pretty thin, I had to cook them for about 20minutes, and some of them were still doughy when I put them on the rack to cool. The cookies from my second batch are greasy and kind of disgusting to touch, but they are really tasty and chewy! I just wish they had "cooked" all the way through, because I can't tell if they're chewy because they still need more time to cook, or if that's actually how they're supposed to come out. I whipped up a batch of pink glaze last night, so I'll coat the bottoms (where it's the greasiest) and see if the cookies can be made presentable for company eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Go no further in your search for a great rolled cookie recipe!!! I used this recipe this past Easter. I baked with my daughter lots and lots of Easter cookies. They were delicious and easy make. I refridgerated the dough overnight and thawed it on the counter about 20 minutes. It was pliable, thick enough to roll and work with and the recipe made so many tasty cookies. We glazed the cookies and sprinkled with colored sugars. I will use this recipe from now on. Looking forward to the next holiday to bake them! Fantastic recipe, pass it on!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Awesome, I just added a bit more sugar and flour as some people suggested. The secret here is fridge time, I left mine in the fridge for 24 hrs and they came out brilliantly, I didn't even decorate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Cut the recipe in half. Worked great. cookies are a little sweet but not overly sweet, they held their form nicely after rolling and didn't break! All you want from a rolled sugar cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly. Even chilled it overnight as the dough came out gooey more like stiff cake batter. End result: It is impossible to roll. Sticks like glue everywhere. I tried rolling out with flour - 1st batch tasted really floury. Tried to baked next batch as drop cookies - it did not spread out. This recipe has way too much flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
First time I had made sugar cookies & this will be the recipe I use everytime! It was easy to prepare, they held their shape really well while cooking & everybody loved them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Simply Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
They came out TERRIBLE! I followed the recipe and even added that extra cup of sugar as recommended on here + 1 tsp of vanilla and they were still such a disappointment!! The cookies all puffed up and were bumpy on top and tasted like cardboard! What a waste of ingredients, I would not recommend these to anyone, don't waste your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shadi Arjomand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
These turned out great! I did follow advice and added 1/4 cup more sugar and 1 more teaspoon of vanilla. They were delicious...held their shape and were great to decorate. We used both icing and frosting, and they held up well. I have searched for a recipe, and have found the one! Yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Sticky dough, won't roll out, doesn't taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 6,290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States