The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I really can't believe that anyone would think these are not sweet enough. Maybe (and it's a big maybe) if you plan to not put anything sugary on them by way of decoration, but if you plan to ice, frost, or sprinkle them they are PLENTY sweet as is. Overall I thought this recipe was pretty good, but not a revelation. I chilled the dough and had no problems handling it. The first pan I made I rolled out with powdered sugar instead of flour as some suggested--these were very tasty on their own but way too sweet to put icing on top of. For the next batches I used flour instead. Also, as some have said, these cookies puff up a lot so I started to roll them very thin so that they would hold their shape a little better, which worked well even if I liked the consistency of the thicker cookies better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I pulled this one thinking that it will do for a kid's elementary class. I was so surprised!! I love this recipe. It rolls beautifully and is the most forgiving dough I've ever worked with. Only one thing I change: use powdered sugar to roll out the dough; the cornstarch doesn't leave the unpleasant residue flour does and the slight hint of sugar left is a benefit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I couldn't roll the dough after it was refrigerated, no matter how much powdered sugar or flour I added. I tried to add extra flour to the dough to firm it up a little, and it ended up becoming totally flaky while somehow still managing to stick to the surface of my counter through the layer of flour I'd laid down to roll it onto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This is an amazing recipe, was easy to do and tastes great. I put the dough in the freezer for 15 mins. Rolled out the dough in batches. I found rolling the dough in my hands first, was the key to it staying together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Rolled sugar cookies are my favorite to eat, but I hate to bake them. This recipe has TOTALLY changed my mind! I made them for the first time at Christmas and was actually shocked when I asked my kids on their snow day today if they wanted to make a batch for Valentine's day. The dough is easy to whip up and an absolute joy to roll and cut out. I definitely recommend chilling for at least an hour, but I don't change anything within the recipe. I barely need to use any extra flour when rolling and cutting and when baked, they retain their shape beautifully unlike the unidentifiable blobs of Christmas 2012. Best sugar cookies ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I made these for Valentine's day and they were wonderful! I will keep this recipe in my file for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
With all the positive reviews I was SO looking forward to these cookies but I was really let down. A lot of reviews thought this was "too sticky" but I had just the opposite problem, this dough was too stiff and dry that we almost lost our BIG Kitchen Aid Mixer. That was the clencher for me. When I smelled something burning and then saw smoke I had to stop. I am going to try again, taking all the suggestions for changes into consideration. With all the positive reviews I have to believe that there is a great recipe in here somewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehall, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Loved it. They turned out every time. The only problem was that everyone loved them and I couldn't keep them around for long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I made these for my children's classmates for Valentines Day. They turned out lovely. I added an extra cup of sugar as suggested and rolled them on powdered sugar instead of flour too. I also used parchment paper. They baked in 6 minutes. They seemed soft when removed from the oven but I left them on the pan lined paper while I rolled another batch on to a second sheet. This extra time out of the oven on the hot pan helped to make them more solid without browning the tops. These cookies turned out beautifully and never lost their shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leia Spencer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I really liked this cookie recipe. I liked the taste, texture and how well it kept its size and shape. It help the shapes that I cut perfectly and I found the raw dough (after refrigerating for a few hours) to be easy to work with. I'd have given it five stars, but my husband hated it. He said they weren't sweet enough for him. That was one of the things I like about it, though, it wasn't too sweet. Side note: I'm an absolute beginner at all things cooking and baking and I found this recipe to be a breeze. I halved the amount and made about 30 cookies (medium size hearts mostly - about 3 inches).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tori Stuckey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 6,294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States