The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Barbara Molin
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I made half the recipe and that was enough for the short attention span of a nine year old who was rolling them out, cutting out and decorating. That made two cookie sheets which is plenty for a family that is not big on sugar but loves to celebrate! A little on the too sweet side especially after adding the icing and coloured sugar on top, so I will reduce the sugar next time. They're not called sugar cookies for nothing. Other than that the recipe is great as it is. I used almond flavouring instead of vanilla because that's all I had. Watch the oven like a hawk after six minutes. Some of the thinner ones need to come out. We "sanded off" the little bit of the lightly burned bottoms when needed with a cheese grater. Great way of spending quality time with children. Oh, and we put the dough between plastic wrap to roll out and had no problem with it sticking to the rolling pin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Molin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Good. I adjusted ratios to 3c sugar, 2t vanilla and 2t salt. Then they were DELICIOUS!!!! Sturdy texture on the outside for decorating or sugaring(b4 baking)and stacking, fluffy on the inside. Keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linden, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Tasty and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anne Kathryn Daily
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Absolutely amazing cookies, especially when paired with the top rated Sugar Cookie Icing recipe on here! I was skeptical when my dough was really sticky, I didn't believe it would work that way so I added more flour. I froze it for about an hour and kept it frozen while I worked on rolling and cutting, breaking off pieces as I went. At first I baked 350 for 10 min as someone suggested then did the 400 for 8 mins.. Perfect! Didn't spread, they were perfect! I think it would have worked well without the extra flour too so next time I won't let the sticky dough intimidate me, just go with it! Love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Kathryn Daily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I guess I stand alone here, but I didn't think this recipe was that wonderful. Yes, it held it's shape beautifully during baking, so that was nice. However, the cookies needed more sugar and possibly some more vanilla extract. They just don't have the regular sweetness I'd expect from a sugar cookie. Also - these cook FAST. The time in the recipe is much too long, even at 6 minutes. As soon as you see the edges even slightly browning, take them out and get them off the baking sheet quickly. I burnt my first batch following the recipe's time and not watching them closely. A+ for holding shape, C- for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie DeCampo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Audrey
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Fantastic! Beautiful perfect edges, and the cookies themselves are not too sweet, perfect for adding frosting to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
i just made this and it turned out great. i've always been scared to make rolled out cookies because theyll turn hard, the dough wont roll, etc. the dough initially seems sticky, but once you refridgerate it, its perfect. you just need to really flour the surface and it rolls perfectly. after i gathered the dough for about the fourth time (my siblings left really big spaces btwn the cutters) it stated getting a bit tough but it rolled. in the end, i just get the rest of the scraps and threw them on the tray and baked them. they taste great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChEfInTrAiNiNg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by suzannemacduff
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Awesome recipe I would try rolling it in icing sugar instead if aloud. Slightly crunchy but a soft cookie and not overly sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
You can't go wrong with this recipe! It's quick and easy! The only thing Id suggest is baking the cookies at a lower temperature because the edges brown too quickly at 400 and the middle doesn't always cook. I would recommend 350-375 degrees for 8-10 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I am so happy to have found this recipe! Easy peasy to make and they are fool proof. YUMMY!!! I just need to find the perfect icing recipe to go with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 6,615) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States