The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I guess I stand alone here, but I didn't think this recipe was that wonderful. Yes, it held it's shape beautifully during baking, so that was nice. However, the cookies needed more sugar and possibly some more vanilla extract. They just don't have the regular sweetness I'd expect from a sugar cookie. Also - these cook FAST. The time in the recipe is much too long, even at 6 minutes. As soon as you see the edges even slightly browning, take them out and get them off the baking sheet quickly. I burnt my first batch following the recipe's time and not watching them closely. A+ for holding shape, C- for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie DeCampo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Audrey
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Fantastic! Beautiful perfect edges, and the cookies themselves are not too sweet, perfect for adding frosting to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
i just made this and it turned out great. i've always been scared to make rolled out cookies because theyll turn hard, the dough wont roll, etc. the dough initially seems sticky, but once you refridgerate it, its perfect. you just need to really flour the surface and it rolls perfectly. after i gathered the dough for about the fourth time (my siblings left really big spaces btwn the cutters) it stated getting a bit tough but it rolled. in the end, i just get the rest of the scraps and threw them on the tray and baked them. they taste great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChEfInTrAiNiNg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by suzannemacduff
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Awesome recipe I would try rolling it in icing sugar instead if aloud. Slightly crunchy but a soft cookie and not overly sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
You can't go wrong with this recipe! It's quick and easy! The only thing Id suggest is baking the cookies at a lower temperature because the edges brown too quickly at 400 and the middle doesn't always cook. I would recommend 350-375 degrees for 8-10 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I am so happy to have found this recipe! Easy peasy to make and they are fool proof. YUMMY!!! I just need to find the perfect icing recipe to go with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Closer to 3.5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
2-10-2015 used my Valentine shapes, was easy, workable dough but just an ok flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I have made this recipe twice: first as written, then most recently, with the suggestions made by many others. My comments: * Best taste is with the additional cup of sugar, and an extra tsp of vanilla. Definitely use this combo if you're not going to ice them. If you are going to ice them, you can use the original recipe as your icing wlll add the extra kick of sweetness. I like the sweet variety AND will still ice mine! :-) * If you're going to roll and cut shapes, be sure to keep the dough chilled throughout the process. The warmer the dough, the more it spreads while baking, thus your cut shapes will lose their shape. * Cook time will vary based on the size and thickness of your cut shapes and how cold your dough is. The bigger and thicker the shapes and colder the dough, the longer they take. My 5" wide and 1/4" thick valentine hearts took about 10 mins to bake where they were not raw in the middle. My dough was very cold...spent the night in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Very tastes cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 6,583) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States