The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I made these cookies tonight to Christmas and I wasn't to happy with them. I'm going back to my original recipe. Only two stars from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrice Bevil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I've made this recipe twice now. The first time it turned out great. The second time I had the problem that another reviewed had where the dough was too sticky. But I think this was due to the fact that I was rushing and when softening the butter in the microwave, I got too much of it actually melted and not just softened. But... it was salvageable. Once I'd worked the dough enough and used enough flour and sugar on the surface that extra got into the dough it was usable. I found the key is to take out only enough dough for about 1/2 dozen cookies at a time, keeping the rest in the fridge while you work. It makes for a messy fridge door handle but... it makes for great cookies. Also, when I tried using parchment paper to roll with - ugh. Much better with just a well floured/sugared rolling pin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I made these with my two year old today so she could give them to Santa tonight! I loved them. Tasted awesome! I did add an extra cup of confectioners sugar, doubled the vanilla, and 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. I do NOT know what these people did with the reviews of "sticky". It just was not so! I mean I left it in the refrigerator for 4 hours and cut the dough ball into 4ths and as I worked with one section, I kept the others in the fridge. If you leave the whole thing out, of course it is going to get sticky! Try the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn McGregor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
These were good but needed to be sweeter, suggest to double sugar or add additional powdered sugar. Definitely needs to be refrigerated before cutting and in between batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
These are great!!! Made with my kids on Christmas Eve for Santa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debbie
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Very good recipe for me. I have Tremors and I can't do many thing like decorate cakes or cookies. So I just rolled them into a ball, then into sugar colored. Then bake. I let them bake at 400/8minutes. Such a easy recipe. Thanks for sharing it. Debbie Penner- Yrigollen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This is not an ideal dough for rolling in my experience. It was difficult to work with (very, very sticky even when using parchment papers, extra flour, etc. ) and makes a rather mildly sweet cookie. The upside of this dough-my reason for giving it 4 stars instead of 3--is that it does not spread. My intricate cookie shapes stayed their actual shape instead of spreading like a blob. The mild flavor will also be a nice backdrop to a sweet buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
There's no other way to say it. If your dough isn't right, you're doing it wrong. I didn't change anything at all about this recipe and it came out great. I'm taking a half batch with me to work (I didn't have time to roll out and cut the whole batch...this makes a loooot of dough!) today to share. The dough is a bit wet when you begin working with it, but it's OK because as you are rolling and adding all that extra flour, the dough doesn't turn into a brick. I even tried doing some letterpressed cookies with it and even they turned out great!! I was surprised how the details in the letterpressed cookies were pretty intact through baking. I didn't have time to decorate these either, and I am looking forward to having the time to actually decorate some of these beautiful and wonderfully tasty cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Defiantly needed more sugar, I prefer my sugar cookies to be sweet but other than that not too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Tried this receipe and loved it the first time. Cutting out the cookies were a breeze. I usually struggle with the dough sticking. Will use this receipe over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,500) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States