Taco Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Very good mix. The first time I used the mix I followed the recipe as written. From there I decided that a tiny bit of salt (1/4 tsp) brought the flavors together better. Given that the tiny amount of salt was divided between the mountain of tacos I made, I didn't feel guilty about changing the recipe at all. I trusted fate and used the entire mixture with 1 1/2 pounds of ground turkey (we don't eat red meat) and it was just the perfect amount of spice, without setting anyone's mouth on fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This is the texture that I have been looking for! We love the Chi Chi's fiesta restaurante seasoning, but can no longer get it around here in MI. I have been trying to come up with my own, and was basically using the same ingredients as this recipe except for the cornstarch. That's what was missing! I followed this recipe this time around to a T and we all really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHIEH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I found this to be very flavorful...when you add some salt, hence the 4 stars; otherwise this would have been 5 stars. I found this entire batch only yielded one standard recipe (when used with a pound of meat/chicken), so next time I'll probably make 4 times the amount so I can keep some extra on hand. For my recipe of tacos, I add the entire contents of this recipe, plus 1/2 tsp. salt and 3/4 c. water to my meat. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrierespock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
almost like mine i have home made shells to go with it easiest to remember if you want it 1 c flour 1 c corn meal 2 eggs 3 - 4 cups cold water mix all together and make like crepes gotta try them with your mixture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
So many recipes call for taco seasoning packets, but I try not to eat the MSG and other artificial ingredients in packaged seasonings. This recipe is even better than the pre-packaged ingredients, and I love that I know everything that's in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This is the recipe we use now for tacos, since with my food allergies most commercial packets are not ok. While this is supposed to be salt free, I found adding 1 tsp of salt made this the best taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dorchester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This recipe is a great start, but since my chili powder is pure I added about 1/2 tsp of garlic salt (though regular salt could be used - we just love garlic!). I also put in 3-4 tsp of paprika. The paprika is really necessary if you want the fullness of taste that you find in a package mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I used more cayenne pepper than called for just because I am a heat freak! I can safely say I will never buy another "packet" at the grocery store again. I used it with a pound and a half of ground chicken breast and added about a half cup of water and simmered it til the water was absorbed. This recipe is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Great mix, much better than what you buy in the stores. I omit the oregano, just don't think I'd like it in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBYSCOOBY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This is great and no msg, additives or chemicals!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winter Garden, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States