Taco Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Very good mix. The first time I used the mix I followed the recipe as written. From there I decided that a tiny bit of salt (1/4 tsp) brought the flavors together better. Given that the tiny amount of salt was divided between the mountain of tacos I made, I didn't feel guilty about changing the recipe at all. I trusted fate and used the entire mixture with 1 1/2 pounds of ground turkey (we don't eat red meat) and it was just the perfect amount of spice, without setting anyone's mouth on fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This is the texture that I have been looking for! We love the Chi Chi's fiesta restaurante seasoning, but can no longer get it around here in MI. I have been trying to come up with my own, and was basically using the same ingredients as this recipe except for the cornstarch. That's what was missing! I followed this recipe this time around to a T and we all really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHIEH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I found this to be very flavorful...when you add some salt, hence the 4 stars; otherwise this would have been 5 stars. I found this entire batch only yielded one standard recipe (when used with a pound of meat/chicken), so next time I'll probably make 4 times the amount so I can keep some extra on hand. For my recipe of tacos, I add the entire contents of this recipe, plus 1/2 tsp. salt and 3/4 c. water to my meat. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrierespock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
almost like mine i have home made shells to go with it easiest to remember if you want it 1 c flour 1 c corn meal 2 eggs 3 - 4 cups cold water mix all together and make like crepes gotta try them with your mixture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
So many recipes call for taco seasoning packets, but I try not to eat the MSG and other artificial ingredients in packaged seasonings. This recipe is even better than the pre-packaged ingredients, and I love that I know everything that's in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This is the recipe we use now for tacos, since with my food allergies most commercial packets are not ok. While this is supposed to be salt free, I found adding 1 tsp of salt made this the best taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dorchester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This recipe is a great start, but since my chili powder is pure I added about 1/2 tsp of garlic salt (though regular salt could be used - we just love garlic!). I also put in 3-4 tsp of paprika. The paprika is really necessary if you want the fullness of taste that you find in a package mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I used more cayenne pepper than called for just because I am a heat freak! I can safely say I will never buy another "packet" at the grocery store again. I used it with a pound and a half of ground chicken breast and added about a half cup of water and simmered it til the water was absorbed. This recipe is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Great mix, much better than what you buy in the stores. I omit the oregano, just don't think I'd like it in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBYSCOOBY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This is great and no msg, additives or chemicals!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winter Garden, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States