Taco Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I was excited about this recipe. I had all the ingredients. However, when I put them all together with my beef, it just lacked the zing that a packaged taco seasoning has. Not impressed with it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
We loved this recipe! It is definitely only for 1-1.5 lbs of ground beef and we mixed it with 1/3c of water before mixing it with the beef. We didn't have any garlic powder so we used garlic salt with the same measurement. We will be using this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ariel Casperson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Very flavorful. Enjoyed it much better than the pre-packaged taco seasoning. Hubby and I had taco salads and it was great! I added the whole mix to a pound of ground beef and it was just right, not sure about the 36 servings? didn't have the minced onion but didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Made this without the cayenne and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
As others have mentioned, this recipe is perfect with the addition of about 1/2t of salt. Although I love spicy food, my younger kids don't. This is not spicy as written and just right for them. The recipe says "36 servings" but I used the entire recipe the same way I would use one store-bought packet--about 1.5lbs of meat. Thanks for a healthier alternative to store-bought packets filled with "who knows what!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Yumm! I combined all the ingredients in my mortar and pestle and crushed away! I must say it does indeed need salt which is why I only gave it 4 stars. Other than that don't be scared to put oregano in it as it gives a unique flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I too liked this recipe although I agree that it needed salt. I did add a little bit more cumin because I wanted it a little more seasoned. Next time I will use flour instead of cornstarch because the cornstarch sucked up all the water I added before I was able to bring it to simmer. Overall, very flavorful! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Thanks for this recipe. Didn't have a mix and found this. Worked great! Won't have to worry about having a mix any longer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I was in the mood for tacos, but my husband is on a low sodium diet. I am always looking at the products to see what the sodium content is. Well package seasoning is really high! I came across this and just had to try it... well ... THIS WAS AWESOME! Made it with ground turkey and used whole wheat wraps. I mixed with 3/4 cup of water and let simmer for about 15 minutes on low heat. The only different thing I used was onion powder instead of dried minced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
made as written. it was okay. I did pep it up with some salt and added some paprika after reading some of the other reviews. won't have to buy taco seasoning from the store again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States