Chicken and Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I had some leftover cooked chicken breast that needed to be used, so I picked this recipe. I had to modify it a little based on what I had on hand as well as personal preferences: I used a whole 12-ounce package of bacon, about 2 cups of frozen corn (no creamed corn on hand), a can of cream of celery soup (trying to make up for the creaminess from the missing creamed corn as well as not having bell pepper on hand) and flour instead of corn starch, because I think corn starch gives soups a weird texture. I also added a little extra salt, quite a bit more black pepper, and about 1 tsp of dried dill weed. I'm giving this 5 stars because the resulting soup was fantastic, and I'm sure the recipe as-written (still subbing flour for corn starch, though) would have been just as fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This soup was so good! I didn't add the bell peps because my young boys wouldn't have liked the taste. W/O they both LOVED it! With the bacon and the cheese...there is nothing wrong with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This is a great recipe. I made a few changes but used essentially the same recipe. I left out the pepper and doubled the onion. I also left out the cream corn and just used more of the frozen corn. I added a lot more cheese too. My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Will def make again! So yummy! I added a can on cream of mushrooms, and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Loved it as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Fantastic soup, Iv'e made it twice, the second time I added frozen jumbo shrimps instead of the chicken my family loved it. Shirley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Quick and easy. Delicious. Added diced potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This is very good. I added potatoes. I was surprised it didn't call for potatoes to begin with. I also omitted the bell pepper (I'm allergic). Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I added 2 cups red potatoes peelind and chopped and i medium red and green bell peppers. My family loved it. That is really stange for this house. There are seven of us and we never agree on any meal. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cut And Shoot, Texas, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Definitely a recipe that is going in my recipe box. Will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Firehouse Country Chicken

Satisfy a big hungry crew with this hearty firehouse chicken and sausage stew.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States