5-Minute Microwave Nutella® Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
My oldest boy and I made this together last night. We made no changes or substitutions. I did make sure to spritz my mug a little with non stick cooking spray before I added the cake ingredients. We topped the "cake" with a little Cool Whip before we dug in. Both of us really enjoyed this. Great quick pantry dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I made this gluten free by using Pamela's baking mix. It came out a little salty for a cake, but otherwise it was moist and had good flavor. I will try cutting the salt in half next time. I topped it with home made whipped cream mixed with nutella, which helped balance the salt flavor a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
It was ok. Next time I'll add 3 tablespoons of nutella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Super easy and fast and moist and delicious. I made it following the recipie exactly and topped it with some vanilla ice cream. It made it taste like a chocolate cake/brownie sunday. I don't think the Nutella is a must have; I think you could make it into a regular chocolate cake and it would still be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
while this is a great mug cake, it's too salty in the batter. It tasted more like a brownie then a cake on the 1st round and it rose soo high I thought it was going to explode all over the microwave....trust me I was laughing at it. 2nd cup I made, I omitted the salt all together. And it was way way better....still rose over the cup, so I put it in a soup mug the 3rd time....yes I made this 4x in one night, 3 of my kids and hubby got all excited over it. And loved watching it bake soo quickly in the microwave. TY but won't be making it again with the added salt. Taste way better without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
this recipe was good but really rich so you might need to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Recipe was great in that it had all ingredients that I have in the house. When adding the salt I questioned the amount but followed the recipe. It was way too salty. I made it with PB which may have also added to the saltiness. I topped with vanilla ice cream which helped, but still could only eat about 1/4 of it. I would try it again without the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
My husband and I wanted something sweet last night so tried this. I didn't have self rising flour so used regular flour and added 1/4 tsp baking powder. I did taste the salt--but I liked it that way--you could take it out if you don't like that much....self rising flour usually already has salt in it. We also poured it into 2 ramekins and cooked both at the same time so we each had our own. We were both surprised that it was completely cooked in the middle. It hit the spot! This would be great with peanut butter too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Great quick snack...I also substituted the salt with baking powder as another reviewer suggested, and I used all purpose flour...thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Very yummy!!! I didn't have self rising flour so I added a little more than 1/8 tsp of baking powder and reduced the salt to 1/8 tsp. The cake wasn't very sweet but we ate it with ice cream and it was perfect. I will make this more often. Just the right amount to take care of my chocolate craving. Keeps me from over eating. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Best Mug Cake (Paleo)

See what makes this chocolate mug cake paleo-friendlier.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States