5 Minute Microwave Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I was very skeptical of this... really? cornbread in 5 minutes? but it was GREAT! I added a little more sugar and a little more oil because i like moist cornbread. I put it in for 3 minutes in my microwave (900 watt) and it came out perfect. I'll definitely be making this in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Decided at the last minute to make cornbread with the chili tonight so I came to allrecipes.com to find a recipe......and I found this one. Since it was the first time making it, I didn't change anything. The hubby said it could be sweeter. I eat mine with butter and honey so I didn't notice. Even the kids liked it. I loved how easy and quick it was to make....and in the microwave. I'd never heard of cornbread done in the microwave before. Mine took a total of six minutes to be completely done but even at that.....it's a heck of a lot shorter than in the oven! And great for a last minute add to dinner! You definitely have to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkey, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
this has a great texture and consistency! the flavor is that of plain cornbread...which it is! it "saved" our lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
My husband said this is the best cornbread he's had in his life, and he's 60. He liked it because it was moist inside, but I found it to be firm as well. It didn't crumble to pieces when I split the slices to butter them. The only changes were that I used 3 Tbsp sugar due to previous reviewers advice, and 1/2 tsp salt because salt enhances other flavors. I used a 9" pie plate with a juice glass in the center to ensure against a soggy middle. I greased the cookware, added the batter, and cooked in a 1200 watt microwave for 3 & 1/2 minutes. I reheated it later for 30 seconds with no discernable change in quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mshcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dripping Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I'm sorry but we didn't care for this at all. It really did cook up in 3 minutes which was amazing!! But the texture didn't feel right to us and it probably could have used some more sugar (we tend to enjoy sweeter cornbread). I am glad I tried it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Okay, I finally tried this and much to my surprise, it came out beautiful in 5 minutes and quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
For microwave anything, this was awesome. It does not have the texture of regular cornbread (well, my kinds) - very light and almost cake-like, not too much cornmeal, touch of sweetness. There is no browning or crust to speak of. It's very delicate and doesn't hold up well to being buttered. However, I thought it tasted great. It was warm and fresh and done in 4 minutes on high (800 watt oven). I made it because I forgot about the bread until I was serving, and because I'm cool like that I know I'll gratefully be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
great cornbread. I put butter on top of mine and I loved it. I Cannot wait to make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parakiss

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
OMG...this is awesome. This is as good as my cornbread baked in the oven, if not better - really!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Troy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This was SHOCKINGLY good. I made it assuming I'd have to throw it out because I usually hate the microwave for anything but reheating leftovers, but really enjoyed it! I did adjust it a little - I added a handful of frozen corn to the mix, and after I microwaved it I put it under the broiler on high for a few minutes to get a nice brown crust on top. What a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States