5 Minute Microwave Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
delivers as promised! I do like some zest though so will add some cheddar and jalepenos next time. But as is...great with chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolle Browne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
My kids loved it and this recipe was super easy! My cornbread didn't raise near as even as the one in the picture but it still tasted ok. It could stand to be a little sweeter (I used 3 Tb of sugar), but that is just my taste. The texture was more cake like, but that was fine with me! My cook time ended up around 5 minutes, the middle was being stubborn. With a little tweaking this recipe could easily be a 5 star recipe! Thank you so much for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I tried this recipe because I moved into a place that doesn't have an oven. I've had better cornbread in my life but this recipe turned out great especially considering how easy it was. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Lyon, Rhône-Alpes, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
It was delicious. I added a bit of honey to sweeten it, around 2 tablespoons. That just made it over the top. Also, I have the same set of pots you have, based on the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This was SHOCKINGLY good. I made it assuming I'd have to throw it out because I usually hate the microwave for anything but reheating leftovers, but really enjoyed it! I did adjust it a little - I added a handful of frozen corn to the mix, and after I microwaved it I put it under the broiler on high for a few minutes to get a nice brown crust on top. What a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Very fast and easy. Doesn't have the same texture as regular corn bread but a good quick substitute when in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I was very sure this recipe would not work out, or taste terrible. Boy, was I wrong! Granted, it's not as good as oven baked, but for a last minute thing...it's wonderful. I didn't change a thing, just threw some grated cheddar on top. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
My husband said this is the best cornbread he's had in his life, and he's 60. He liked it because it was moist inside, but I found it to be firm as well. It didn't crumble to pieces when I split the slices to butter them. The only changes were that I used 3 Tbsp sugar due to previous reviewers advice, and 1/2 tsp salt because salt enhances other flavors. I used a 9" pie plate with a juice glass in the center to ensure against a soggy middle. I greased the cookware, added the batter, and cooked in a 1200 watt microwave for 3 & 1/2 minutes. I reheated it later for 30 seconds with no discernable change in quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mshcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dripping Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Just made this. Taste wise is similar to Chinese "Fatt Koh" with cornmeal. For a microwaved cornbread I find it to be quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Awesome! I was skeptical about the microwave cooking idea but it works! My entire family really enjoyed this! Although i did have to cook it for about 5-6 mins. Not sure if this is because of my microwave or what but I kept adding 30 seconds at a time until it was done. It is still faster than the oven and is ready so fast i made several loaves in a 1/2 hour. Next time I will add more sugar or stevia but overall my whole family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States