5 Minute Microwave Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Very fast and easy. Doesn't have the same texture as regular corn bread but a good quick substitute when in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I was very sure this recipe would not work out, or taste terrible. Boy, was I wrong! Granted, it's not as good as oven baked, but for a last minute thing...it's wonderful. I didn't change a thing, just threw some grated cheddar on top. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
My husband said this is the best cornbread he's had in his life, and he's 60. He liked it because it was moist inside, but I found it to be firm as well. It didn't crumble to pieces when I split the slices to butter them. The only changes were that I used 3 Tbsp sugar due to previous reviewers advice, and 1/2 tsp salt because salt enhances other flavors. I used a 9" pie plate with a juice glass in the center to ensure against a soggy middle. I greased the cookware, added the batter, and cooked in a 1200 watt microwave for 3 & 1/2 minutes. I reheated it later for 30 seconds with no discernable change in quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mshcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dripping Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Just made this. Taste wise is similar to Chinese "Fatt Koh" with cornmeal. For a microwaved cornbread I find it to be quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Awesome! I was skeptical about the microwave cooking idea but it works! My entire family really enjoyed this! Although i did have to cook it for about 5-6 mins. Not sure if this is because of my microwave or what but I kept adding 30 seconds at a time until it was done. It is still faster than the oven and is ready so fast i made several loaves in a 1/2 hour. Next time I will add more sugar or stevia but overall my whole family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
We found this edible and quick, but as a Southerner, it just wasn't good ole' cornbread. It is fine if served topped with chili, soup, etc. I used an 8x8 square pan and 3.5 minutes did the job. A smaller pan may yield better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was quick and tasted just like cornbread from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
i was to find this intristing - it did take 4 min to be done - 3 mjn. was slightly sticky inside - could be 3 1/2 would of been better.. this one was a little dry but would be great with a black eyed peas dish with juice to take out the dry - over all a 5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I was very skeptical of this... really? cornbread in 5 minutes? but it was GREAT! I added a little more sugar and a little more oil because i like moist cornbread. I put it in for 3 minutes in my microwave (900 watt) and it came out perfect. I'll definitely be making this in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
FANTASTIC!!! I am a Brit who has lived in the States and loved corread at thanksgiving (I also used to make it just as a bread to have in the house). Love this recipe-perfect for when you want to make it, can not rate it high enough. Did not have baking powder in the house however so used self raising flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Chef John's Italian Cornbread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States