5 Minute Microwave Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Like some others said, I NEVER thought I would do this! I'm a southern girl, and cornbread is NOT made in the microwave. But I needed cornbread and had no time. The only changes I made were to use pork fat instead of vegetable oil, and no sugar (because real cornbread is not sweet! LOL). It was better than I expected! Put some butter on it and dunked it into a bowl of beans, and it was pretty dang good! I would do it again, it was that easy! No hot oven to deal with, no cast iron. For company I'll still do it the old fashioned way, but just for me, this will work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I was looking for a microwave bread recipe not expecting anything so I was doubly pleased to find this one because my family loves cornbread. I made it with white whole wheat flour (it was all I had) and skipped the egg because of allergies, then doubled the recipe. It turned out surprisingly well albeit a little dry but I have a very powerful microwave so I should have cut the time down. If you like a sweeter cornbread then add more sugar but this is a great basic, very quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJames

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Awesome - can't even believe that it's so easy and quick to make yummy cornbread like this- you don't even have to grease the pan- it just comes right out- incredible! I will probably be making this every week!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Surprised the hell out of me that this actually worked and tasted great not as good as baked but great when you are low on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheKitchenBarbarian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lumby, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
this recipe was great! quick and easy! i added in some frozen corn and green peppers. Next time will throw in some sausage too. Turned out lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This worked out really great. It was a little crumbly, but the taste was right on. Quick and simple to make. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Futrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This was good... for a microwave recipe. I wouldn't serve this as cornbread on its own, but it would probably be great for cornbread dressing or used as a corn spoon bread of sorts, with butter and honey. I added mine to a turkey and black bean salad, and it was good. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Wow, this surpassed my expectations, too. I made it gluten free by using GF all purposse flour but still made it exactly to recipe. In my smaller micro, it took 4 minutes. It was SO easy. Sliced the pieces in half, buttered them, and enjoying them with a nice homemade soup. A perfect winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Didn't really care for this at all. Yes it cooked up nicely like corn bread and tasted like cornbread...but it had a funny aftertaste. I don't think I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I tried this recipe but used self-rising flour and cornmeal instead, added 2 tables spoons of of olive oil and one egg. sprayed a pyrex dish with non-stick oil and microwaved for 3 minutes. I cut into pieces to fit into a toaster oven until brown on top. You could not tell that it wasn't baked in a full oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States