5 Minute Microwave Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
It's not really fair to wing it on a recipe and then write a review, but here goes. I really wanted something sweet and chewy, so I tried the applesauce trick- substituted applesauce for oil. Made 1/2 batch using egg beaters instead of eggs and applesauce instead of oil. Microwaved for 2 minutes in 1200 oven. not really cornbread, more like a dry pudding,but with some homemade jam it really hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crazyaboutsaffron
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
In all fairness, all I had was self rising corn bread mix, so this is probably better with cornmeal. I made the needed adjustments to account for extra ingredients. The texture was definitely not as good as oven baked, but in a pinch it does the job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Ridiculously easy, and very tasty for a quick fix with chili. I did pop it under the broiler for a couple minutes after it was done to brown up the top. It took about 3.5 minutes in my microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwilke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I made cornbread by experimenting in a mug by using a box of Jiffy cornbread mix in the little blue box. Mix according to directions. Spray the 'over sized coffee mug' with nonstick, pour half the mixture in each mug. Cook one mug at a time for 3 minutes. It did rise above the mug, then it started going back down. Of course it depends on the different microwaves, but now that I have made two of them I will do it for the entire 3 minutes because it dries out the cornbread better making it more like oven baked. Next time I'll try adding jalapeno ;-) for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kemah, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheryl Simmons
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Used above ingredients without sugar added Parmesan cheese with oregano and cilantro used buttermilk delicious brown in toaster oven after cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl Simmons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RLAndrews
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
My husband found the recipe It was really good. I was surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
It was perfect! We were needing cornbread last minute & this worked well. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Turned out great! Couldn't believe it but the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherrypop

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I made it exactly as written and it wasn't bad. It was a little dry. It does the trick if you want corn bread but don't have an over or time to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Whoa. I was surprised it actually turned out, especially with my tweaks. I used whole wheat flour and instead of sugar I used honey. Not bad. I wonder if it could use with a tad less baking powder, though. Seemed a little bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States