5 Cup Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I read the one negative review and knew immediately a few finer points were needed when putting this recipe together. First, if you do not have 24 hours to let your salad sit over night in the refrigerator than don't make the salad. Be sure to drain your canned fruit well. I also use much less sour cream than is called for, in fact, I use just enough sour cream to coat all the ingredients, cover, then chil overnight! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I've used this recipe for years, passed to me from my mother. I add nuts to mine. The key to this recipe, though, is letting it sit overnight in the fridge. The flavors blend together, and the marshmallow softens...yummy! This will be on my Thanksgiving table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
We just love this. Easy to make and when the meal is over the bowl has been scraped clean
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Williams Hopkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Canton, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I can't believe this is reviewed as 5 stars! This is my first review and it is because I want to save people from wasting their time with this terrible recipe. My mother tried to make this and our family decided that she must have read the recipe wrong--much to our disappointment, we realized it was really that bad! Don't waste your time...find a new fruit salad recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
My mom always made this to take to pot lucks and picnics - fabulous blast from the past! I used crushed pinapple (only because that is what I had on hand) and it still turned out awesome. I added some chopped walnuts for a little nutty crunch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Stevens Clark
Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I've made this for years, my mother-in-law's exact recipe, handed down, and we continue to make it for all occasions. I added pecans and it is even better. (My mother always decorated hers with cherries)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Oh. My. Goodness. My mom has made this for years, however, our 5 cup salad actually has six cups...the five listed above in addition to 1 CUP OF CHOPPED PECANS. H-E-A-V-E-N-L-Y. It's the only thing that could improve the above recipe. BE SURE YOUR FRUIT IS DRAINED REALLY WELL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
What a blast from the past! I love ambrosia and decided to make this for dessert using reduced fat sour cream and fruit packed in their own juices. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I clean a pomegranate as they're in season this time of year & add some seeds mixed into the salad, it gives it an extra bit of color when i sprinkle more seeds on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
So delicious. Using sweetened coconut is key in this recipe as it adds just enough sweetness when combined with the fruit to offset the sour cream. The longer this sits, the better it gets.......if you can let it sit long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Green Grape Salad

This dessert salad is creamy with bursts of grape flavor.

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States