5 Cup Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I had made this for years when my children were young. Years later, I made it again! Nostalgic and yummy! I used a larger can of crushed pineapple drained and added an additional cup of mini marshmallows!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin Groeber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Southampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I love this recipe. I absolutely agree that you have to have at least 4 hours to let the ingredients come together. The only thing I do differently is I add some maraschino cherries to give it some added color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
First had this in 1982 when visiting Okla. It's been a favourite ever since. There's never any left when we 'dish it up'. We have to put a bit to one side so that we don't miss out. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I love this recipe, took it to a potluck and it was completely gone. The only change I made was to add some crasens I had left over from Christmas baking. Beautiful and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I read the one negative review and knew immediately a few finer points were needed when putting this recipe together. First, if you do not have 24 hours to let your salad sit over night in the refrigerator than don't make the salad. Be sure to drain your canned fruit well. I also use much less sour cream than is called for, in fact, I use just enough sour cream to coat all the ingredients, cover, then chil overnight! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I've used this recipe for years, passed to me from my mother. I add nuts to mine. The key to this recipe, though, is letting it sit overnight in the fridge. The flavors blend together, and the marshmallow softens...yummy! This will be on my Thanksgiving table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
We just love this. Easy to make and when the meal is over the bowl has been scraped clean
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Canton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I can't believe this is reviewed as 5 stars! This is my first review and it is because I want to save people from wasting their time with this terrible recipe. My mother tried to make this and our family decided that she must have read the recipe wrong--much to our disappointment, we realized it was really that bad! Don't waste your time...find a new fruit salad recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
My mom always made this to take to pot lucks and picnics - fabulous blast from the past! I used crushed pinapple (only because that is what I had on hand) and it still turned out awesome. I added some chopped walnuts for a little nutty crunch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Stevens Clark
Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I've made this for years, my mother-in-law's exact recipe, handed down, and we continue to make it for all occasions. I added pecans and it is even better. (My mother always decorated hers with cherries)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Green Grape Salad

This dessert salad is creamy with bursts of grape flavor.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States