4-Bean Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Very good. Reminds me of a recipe I used to make called Calico Beans. No, butter beans and lima beans are not the same thing. I don't know...maybe one is more 'ripe' than the other. But they don't look the same. I did not drain the pork and beans (because they are in sauce, not just beany liquid) but did drain and rinse well the other beans; used frozen for the limas; did not use bacon (only because I need to watch the cholesterol). Like others, I would cut back on the sugar next time but that is just personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I eat this all the time now that I've found the recipe. I am a big fan of molasses, so I add about three times what the recipe calls for, but that's the only difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Good Recipe, I added a half pound of ground beef and next time I will use less vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki G.
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Maybe I did something wrong, but the beans were still pretty hard. I used pinto, white, and navy beans. The flavor was great, but I'll have to simmer the beans a little longer to get the tenderness even close to that of a can of baked beans. Will make again, but try in a crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I made the recipe exactly as written and everyone loved it. We found it a perfect balance of sweet/savory. I have made many baked bean recipes and this is by far the very best and is one I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Oh, these were goooood! I used a can of pink beans, black beans and canned baked beans. I left the remaining ingredient quantities the same. They were definitely better the next day. Will be making these all summer long! Thanks scubaLQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I thought it was very good, even if you delete the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This recipe is very similar to the recipe that my sister in law's sister gave me over 20 years ago. Mine/hers is called Crockpot All Day Beans. Uses 1 can Mexican Red sauce (if you can't find this just use red enchilada sauce) and 1/4 cup Worchester sauce instead of the Ketchup, vinegar and molasses. Cook in Crockpot on low for 6 to 8 hours. So much easier and it has a bit of a kick from the red sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I suspect this may be a cultural thing but I found it way too sweet - I find that a lot of American has way more sugar than I would normally eat. (I'm Australian) I would use half or less of the brown sugar and more bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I have used a similar recipe for years but prefer some bottled BBQ Sauce (such as Kraft) but my family likes the addition of black beans, pinto -- just use a wide variety and people rave for it. cooking grams
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States