4-Bean Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Excellent bean casserole. I added about 1/4 cup of Jim Beam. I would probably cut back on the vinegar a little next time I make it. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
First, I have something to say, and this isn’t even my own recipe. One reviewer literally changed just about everything in this recipe but, PLEASE, do yourself a favor and tweak after you give this a try at least once, as written. IMO it’s that good, and I wouldn’t change anything. That particular reviewer gave it 5 stars, but seriously, she wasn’t reviewing this recipe, only her custom version. The selection of beans is interesting, eye appealing, and just tasty! I was a little concerned that the sauce might be too sweet for our taste, but it was the perfect blend. I love baked beans, have cooked them many different ways (including slow cooked), and I honestly can say that I don’t think I’ve had better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I made these for my boyfriend's family reunion. Lots of good cooks in his family, and the disappeared quickly! Wish there were leftovers, they were yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Yes, I have made this. Yes, it was awesome. Like craving it awesome. The comments I got for it were the fact that there were different beans in it and it was so thick and flavorful. Really good chow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly. Got so many comments on how good they were. First dish to empty. Very easy recipe so I am filing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Aren't butter beans and lima beans the same thing, just different names? I omitted the pork & beans and added great northern beans with a little paprika and onion powder, added 1/2lb beef, used turbinado sugar instead of brown, no garlic (didn't have any), used bbq sauce instead of ketchup, and dijon mustard instead of dry. Turned out great! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littleredhen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I MADE THIS AND ADDED A FEW THINGS I DID NOT USE BUTTER BEANS AND I DID NOT USE THE LIMA BEANS, BUT I DID USE NAVY BEANS I DID COOK THEM, I ALSO USED NORTHERN BEANS AND I DID DRAIN THE JUICE FROM ALL EXCEPT FOR THE PORK AND BEANS I USED BUSHES AS MY BASE AND KEPT THE JUICE AND TO THICKEN IT AS IT WAS DONE I ADDED A CAN OR REFIRED BEANS I ALSO ADD MEAT TO THIS I TOOK A PORK BUTT AND COOKED IT IN A SLOW COOKER OVER NIGHT AND THEN PULLD IT ALL A PART AND ADD SOME OF THE MEAT TO THE BEANS ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
My sister made this and we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
My family and I did not really care for this recipe. It wasn't a horrible dish, it just felt as though something was lacking. I followed the recipe exactly as written. Sorry, I won't be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I followed the recipe, , I have been cooking for 43 years , I am not a picky eater at all, but I really did not like these beans. If I had used only northern or navy beans, I think they would have been pretty good. Didn't like the lima and butterbeans and I normally love both. Way too much trouble and expense for the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States