30-Minute Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Good recipe, however way too salty with all the bouillon. Just add some cooked beef (any form: roast, steak, low fat hamburger) to get that beefy taste, and omit the bouillon. If you save this for overnight, keep in mind the pasta will increase in size by soaking up some of that liquid. It's easy for this to become a casserole instead of soup if you add too much pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Delicious, quick soup. To reduce the sodium I used 4 cups of low sodium beef broth. I also added some sliced zucchini and shell macaroni instead of elbow since that's what I had on hand. The next day I added some left over shredded rotisserie chicken. Even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shalimar, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
My family really enjoyed this meal. We sprinkled some low-fat mozzarella on top and enjoyed it with some warm bread on the side. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Not bad, but like other reviewers I added alot more veggies than what the recipe called for including squash & cannelli beans. Also, the more ingredients meant adding more broth and tomatoes and instead of elbows, I made small shells, topping off with some locatali cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This was an easy recipe for some hot soup. I actually made it a more hearty soup by adding extra macaroni, 4 crumbled beef patties (which I had on hand), and one can of Irish potatoes, cut into slices. It was delicious. With the addition of extra noodles and such, however, I also added about 3 cups more water and some extra boullion. Mmm mmm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. I did make a couple changes. I added another can of italian stewed tomatoes and a can of garbanzo beans.This was really tasty with a crusty garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I was a little leary of eating this once I smelled it cooking. I'm not a big cooked-celery-person and that's all I could smell. But it was VERY GOOD! I think I will reduce the celery to 1/2 next time. I doubled the batch so I could freeze some for another meal, hopefully the spinach and pasta will reheat ok. I think I might add a little Italian sausage too for a little more yum. This is such a healthy soup, I can afford to add a few more calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allegan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Delicious! I added some Italian Squash and some fresh tomatoes as well :). The soup was just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This was really easy and a big hit! I recommend adding vegetable seasoning as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Great soup, very fast, easy and tasty. I didn't have any cabbage, so I just added a bit more spinach, and I used white beans instead of pasta, but otherwise didn't make any changes. Will definitely make this again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Colmenarejo, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States