3-Cheese Eggplant Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I never had eggplant before but I was plesantly suprised. This recipe is delicious. My fiancé is a vegetarian so I get tired of pasta and this was a great change of pace. I think the only thing I added was a minced clove if garlic to the spinach mixture. My only beef with this recipe is the labor. It took hours. Definitely not a weeknight meal. I think next time in the interest of time I will brown the eggplant on a sheet in the oven as suggested by my fiancé. 2 eggplants yields quite a few slices. Browning 5 minutes on each side takes ages. I may also use spaghetti sauce instead of the crushed tomato mixture just to see the difference. If your on your own preparing this, give yourself some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This was fantastic! My boyfriend and I aren't huge eggplant fans and he loves meat, but this was delish! I ate what was left for lunch the next few days-- it kept getting better! Alot of prep, so if you're short on time, this may not be the recipe for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Caswell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopatcong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This recipe was great. My picky three year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Great! I just "grilled" the eggplant slices on my george forman with some cooking spray, way faster and less fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Smells good, looks good, and pretty easy to make. I browned the slices in the oven to make it faster and pre-prepped my dry ingredients while the eggplant was drying. I also peeled the skin off. It's the first time ever making homemade lasagna and I'm pretty thrilled with it. Added more spices and cheese and it's a huge hit! Next time I'll try breaded eggplant slices for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna Briano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
My family that swears they do not like eggplant all loved this and swore I am to never make lasagna with noddles again. They loved the flavor the eggplant provided - and this is from a family of eggplant ...eww! Even my picky son in law loves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by panichols

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Made this in advance for a weekend at the cabins and the entire group loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STAFFORDAZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Meh. I made the recipe just as stated. This recipe took forever to make since the sliced eggplant took 5 minutes per side and there were many slices to cook. Prepping the other ingredients also took quite a while, used many dishes that had to be cleaned, and made an overall kitchen mess that wasn't worth the time vs. outcome. The flavor was fine, but nothing special for me. I found it to be more like a layered vegetable stew than a lasagna. I really missed the noodles to give it some stability and some kind of chewing texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
excellent recipe, just be sure to peel the eggplant before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wncqueen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairview, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Yes, the prep takes the most time, do yourself a favor and just do it! This recipe was AMAZING! Everything came out perfectly for me and the flavor was to die for ! RAve reviews at my dinner party and had my kids begging me to make it again! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gensl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States