25-Minute Tunisian Vegetable Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
The couscous soaked up all of the broth, which was fine. I added garlic, and substituted curry, cumin, and red pepper for the spices. I liked the ease of cooking the couscous in the same broth with the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I have made this several times, and it is very good with a few changes.. I leave out the zucchini and squash because I don't like them, and use chicken broth instead of vegetable for more flavor. I also use more like 3 1/4 cups broth instead of four. I double the recommended spices and add onion powder, garlic powder, garlic, hot sauce, parsley and white pepper. Also, I mix grated parmesan cheese into the whole dish. I serve with the Indonesian Satay on this website..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYSAH1313

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Olympic Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Needs more spices!! The basic recipe was good but I like alittle more spice on the taste buds. It sure did make alot more than expected. I split this recipe in half (3 servings) and it was enough for 1 1/2 cups for 3 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okeechobee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Added Garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
We followed the recipe exactly with the exception of substituting cinnamon for cardamom as we didn't have any. The flavors of the spices were subtle, but that allowed for enjoying the flavors of the vegetables as well. We topped it with toasted almonds and orange zest and thought it was very nice. I recruited my husband to help chop veg, as I was worried that it would take a long time. If I were doing it on my own, I really don't think it would take that much longer, as we were finished chopping well before the vegetables were due to be added. From start to finish, it took 33 minutes to get it on the table. My kids both liked it too and everyone said it was "make again"! Thanks for a great, easy, healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Wonderful! My family loved the flavor in this. A good recipe to incorporate more veggies and have lots of flavor. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Excellent dish! I do like a bit more spice; however the majority of my family likes to taste the flavor of the ingredients - not the spice, and they enjoyed it very much! (I did as well, it was quite tasty) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Amazing! Couple of things- definitely double the spices as suggested- perfect that way. You definitely need to put it in a pot- it does make a ton...but that's because the serving size is listed for six.:) I didn't have cardamom so I substituted cinnamon- perfect. I added a clove of garlic as suggested- perfect. FYI- one box of couscous only has 1.5 cups of dry couscous unless you get the bigger one (oops!). Last, Im not sure why someeople said it takes two hours total with prep. I timed it from start to finish- took 39 min. Cut up the onion, zucchini, squash And carrot, put in pot. While that is going, cut up the rest of the stuff. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I doubled the spices like other reviewers had mentioned and it was quite good! I used whole wheat couscous and 5 minutes wasn't enough time to absorb the liquid so i left it covered for 10 minutes. Overall it was a good recipe and my family really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Definately double the spices and add garlic. Also, because it made so much, I did a "test" freeze of a serving. Just thawed and microwaved for lunch and it was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States