2-Step Beefy Taco Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I needed a quick dinner tonight--this fit the bill perfectly. My oldest boy made this pretty much on his own, I suggested he make a few small changes. We added a small chopped onion, some fresh minced garlic and a little of my homemade taco seasoning. The boys wanted "taco smiles" so we served this in taco shells (instead of on sandwich buns) with shredded lettuce, chopped tomatoes and a little reduced fat sour cream. It was a little sloppy but honestly, we were too hungry to care. With a side of cilantro-lime rice, this was a nice filling dinner that literally took 20 minutes from start to finish and my son was quite proud he made a meal that his little brother and mother liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
very good! used 2 lbs ground beef. while browning, added minced onion and a couple dashes of chili powder. Used 1 can of tomato soup, 1 cup of salsa, and a packet of taco season. Simmered for 15 minutes. added a handful of cheddar cheese and mixed it up. Served! Very good change of pace!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This turned out nice! I followed some other reviewers advice and added a packet of spicy taco seasoning (I was making it for my boyfriend and he loves spicy food). I also added 1/4 cup of chopped onions to the ground beef as it cooked, as well as 1/8 tsp of cumin and a 1/4 tsp. chili powder. After mixing everything in I splashed it a few times with Franks hot sauce and piled it onto buns. Easy, and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
They tasted fine. The only reason I gave these three stars is because they had the same taste as a can of Manwich and not a taco taste. I was expecting a more spicy taco taste, which mine did not have. Cheese tends to kill some of the spice. Maybe if you use hot salsa this would be different from a sloppy joe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I can't believe this has not been tried by more people! My husband loves these and so do the kids! I add a package of Taco Seasoning and About 1/2 to 3/4 jar of Salsa. I toast the buns in the oven and it is oh so good and inexpensive. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I can not believe the amazing recipies this has, i followed it to a tee and I could not believe how bland it was, most of it went it to the garbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoSensGo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
My Grandma used to make this for us kids growing up. It was the most looked forward to meal!I'm sooooooo glad i found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I added taco seasoning, chili powder, and cumin, and green pepper. Next time I will not do the extra chili powder and cumin. A little spicy for my taste. The taco seasoning is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Very good,easy and different. will do again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kbourgault

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Hillsborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States