14-Karat Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
DELISH! Turned out so moist! I even used a little bit less oil. Added some pineapple to this and no nuts. This recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Pretty good....but I have had better...BUT....most carrot cake recipes do call for at least a cup to a cup and a half of oil, as this only calls for 1/3c. YES....I was looking for a lower fat and calorie cake and this was it...it was very tasty. A tad dry. Did like the fact that the oil was so reduced and that whole wheat flour was incorporated. Did not add the raisins or coconut. May make again....thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Very good, but the flavor of the cloves was a bit overpowering and it was on the sweet side (yes, I DID use unsweetened applesauce). I left out the raisins and coconut. I topped it with walnuts and our favorite cream cheese frosting. I think walnuts inside the cake would be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOTHEBOMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
MMM!! Great recipe!! The version of this recipe on is ALOT better though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
MMM!! Great recipe!! The version of this recipe on is ALOT better though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I made this for my picky, carrot-cake-loving husband for his birthday and he ate 1/2 of it in under 14 hours. Needless to say, it was good, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This moist, delicious delicacy was absolutely scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
It was very good and very easy to make. I am a beginner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Absolutely the best carrot cake ever!! My husband couldn't get enough and it was gone immediately. I will make this over and over and over again (the carrots did well in my garden this year).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I also made this cake into cupcakes. I omitted the coconut but other than that followed the recipe exactly. The cupcakes turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States