100% Whole Wheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Super Tasty and Super Thick and Hardy... too thick actually, with quadruple cooking times. They tasted, however, delicious. So I would make them again, perhaps using 1/4 cup sans flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
My family didn't care for these at all. I think it was because of the texture. I didn't enjoy making them either, because they are so thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
These were really good pancakes. I didn't have buttermilk so I made sour milk with apple cider vinager. I also added 1 tsp Vanilla Extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kewaunee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This recipe is great! I've finally found a whole wheat pancake that's fluffy and tender. I didn't have buttermilk, so I used a quarter of a cup of butter and two cups of 1% milk. I let the batter rest for ten minutes before frying to allow the baking powder to activate a bit and let the flour absorb the liquid. It turned out beautifully; these pancakes are fluffy and flavorful, and I will definitely be making them again soon. Be sure to let the batter rest for a few minutes to ensure maximum fluffiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julia
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
These are delicious! Instead of buttermilk, I mixed milk with vinegar, but that is the only change I made. Once they were finished, I mixed some margarine with brown sugar and cinnamon, and spread it on the pancakes. Yummy!! definitely a keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I made these at least twice weekly for the past 6 months. They melt in your mouth. The only changes I make, eliminate sugar & add a 2 tsp liquid stevia. I also add a tsp vanilla, & a extra 1/2 tsp baking powder. These are only personal preferences, its great without them also. 5 stars!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Walker Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lonoke, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I made this recipe this morning with a few alterations. Increased the servings to 5. Instead of using only canola oil added natural honey. 2 and 1/2 cups of buttermilk as opposed to 2 3/4th and 3 large eggs. The mix came to a perfect consistancy! Held up nicely while griddling and the pancakes rather fluffy and very moist. I will make this again for sure. (adding blueberries to a few and chocolate chips a great idea!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rabit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Greenwich, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Wow, these are great. Fluffy, thick, and with the subtle nutty taste of whole wheat. I also subbed in soured milk (with vinegar) instead of buttermilk. Other than that, followed the recipe. Kids love them without syrup, my husband loves them, and so do I! This is the third time I've made them and they came out great each time. Perfect whole wheat pancakes"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I have made this many times. I dropped the sugar, since my daughter tends to drown her pancakes in syrup. They were still very delicious. I also like to drop in sliced bananas or fresh blueberries while the first side is cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Kids ate them up!!!!!! great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States