1-2-3 Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by cookiequeen
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I made this for lunch today & evidently didn't notice it called for the Zatarain's® Jambalaya Rice Mix when I made out my grocery list, so I had to improvise & make my own. I used 2 cups Minute rice & 2 cups of water & about 1 tsp. Cajun Seasoning instead. It was perfect. I used 13 med size shrimp instead of 1/2 cup. I also used the diced tomatoes with green chili's, so didn't need to add extra Creole Seasoning. It also never said to add the 2 mixtures together at the end, but I did. I would make this over again. Thanks Johnsonville®.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiequeen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Poteau, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I had high hopes for this recipe because it looked and smelled wonderful. Unfortunately, my family thought it was just ok. The recipe called for shrimp, but, in the recipe directions it said shrimp or chicken,so, I used chicken since I already had it in my freezer. I think our issue was the flavor of the rice with the diced tomatoes. It had too strong of a tomato flavor for us. I think if I had used the spicy tomatoes with chilies like another reviewer we might have liked it better. That being said - we thought the Johnsonville sausage had a really good flavor and I will definitely buy that again to use in a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Angela Sackett
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I'm not a rice girl, but my family is; I AM a Creole-Cajun-Anything-Blackened girl. I enjoyed this meal right along with them! Our grocery didn't carry the Johnsonville Andouille so we subbed in Italian and it worked just fine! We're a family of 7; we doubled the recipe and will have plenty of leftovers for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Photo by Lin-DUH
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Wow! I really enjoyed this, and it was super easy. I used a 14-oz package of Johnsonville's New Orleans-style andouille sausage and a 10-oz can of chicken. I did add a sauteed onion and green pepper because I like them in my jambalaya. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I liked this as the recipe stands, but I loved it when I substituted rotel for the diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Too much hot sauce! My husband loves spicy foods, but even he said the heat on this detracted from the flavors. And I'm not sure that the rice mix is necessary. The seasonings add enough flavor that I'd rather use plain white rice next time and skip the additives from a boxed rice. That would help with the sodium content too. A few tweaks, and I think this would be pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
whole family loved it! I used the "mild" Zatarains Jambalaya Rice mix. Also used turkey sausage 1/2 sweet and 1/2 spicy and the last of the tomatoes from the garden, pureed (my kids hate pieces of tomato). nice flavor with some spice, but not too much. as for the 1 star review that noted sodium....if you look at the nutrition info, it's ALL out of whack! just an error somewhere. it's not overly salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by David Gerard
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
i'm just learning to cook. this was really easy to make and tasted good. i added peppers and onions (no celery on hand). and i got to learn how to devein shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Cooked it tonight it was okay. I made enough for freezer meals. Easy to make and will make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States