One Week – Six Dinners – Just $100 Menu Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
The pricing isn't horrible, but at the same time there's only one item that even looks appealing (the rotisserie style chicken). I could make a better menu and use less than $100...I do it all the time. For example, I spent $58 the other day on groceries -the following (non allrecipes recipes) is on my menu Coconut Pecan Crusted Pork chops, Double cheddar mac & cheese, Spring Veggie Saute Rootbeer BBQ Pulled pork sandwiches, oven roasted potatoes Savory Herb Beef Stew, homemade biscuits Lasagna, Green beans, homemade foccacia Rosemary roasted chicken breasts, glazed baby carrots, and wild rice Beef Stroganoff, Steamed broccoli, and mashed potatoes Slow cooked Chili and cornbread... Of course I still have MORE chicken breasts to use so I'll probably end up making Chicken pot pie (meal in one) Chicken taco meatloaf, Salsa rice con queso and confetti corn... I can make this just w/ what I bought & what I already have on hand. For way less than $100
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Great idea. Terrible menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama2006

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Those of us who work outside of the home and don't have all the time in the world to plan a whole weeks worth of menus and the shopping list and the time spent doing the shopping, really do appreciate the extra help we get from the AllRecipes team. Thank you a wonderful site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I love this addition to the web site. I agree with Tracie that Newlywedws was way out of line with his/her comments. The Allrecipes staff is great and I love the reviews by the other cooks. This weekly planner will be very helpful and if I don't like something, I'll substitute something else. No big deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Acampo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I think it is great that your offering this. Im sure it will be helpful to many that want to quickly plan their meals and have a quick grocery list for it on hand. I haven't tried the other meals but I will say that Newlyweds was a little harsh, don't judge a meal by just the picture...The Ham and Potato soup is truly AWESOME! Oh, and if you can get these items for less money by using store brand or coupons, then great! I really don't think all of these items would end up being $100 anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
i think the idea is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I feel that for being a low budget dinner plan there is a lot of variety and tasty meals. I really get disappointed when people like "Newlywedws" who have "expert" cooking level in there profile trash the effort put forward by the allrecipe team for "low budget" meal plan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I am so excited for this new addition of one week - six dinners. I love trying new recipes and the fact that it's so cheap to make is great!! Thank you allrecipes team, THANK YOU!! Will def post reviews after i've tried some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
WOW! All wonderful meals my family loves! I can't wait to try that pear salad! And SO economical - I have most of this stuff already. Thank you, thank you, thank you, All Recipies!! I never have any time to plan meals, but we hate to waste money and nutrition on eating out. Now we don't have too! Going shopping with my Shopping list tomorrow! The kids and I are SO excited!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRAJAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This is great, because it saves some time and trouble, and since its planed ahead, some money too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States